1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Long VGA lead

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by taimur, Feb 20, 2003.

  1. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    My computer sits a little far away from the intended position of either a plasma or projector that I might get (about 5m from a plasma or 15m if I go for a projector)

    Can I get VGA leads that long or will there be so much degradation of the video quality that I'd be better off with some other solution?

    thanks
    Taimur
     
  2. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,489
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +256
    Gordon Fraser can provide very good long VGA cables and hes in Glasgow too. Try sending him a pm.

    Jeff
     
  3. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks - are they quite expensive (I saw a 15m VGA lead on sale in a US web site for $350!)
     
  4. Threadkiller

    Threadkiller
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. jmack

    jmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have a 5m good quality one you can have for £20 it has audio imbeded in to it aswell was suplyied with a philips plasma .
     
  6. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the URL. I've kept a note of that in my favourites for nearer the time. (I haven't got my system set up yet and with the cost of items I want to buy it may be I have to save up for another 4-5 months)

    Taimur
     
  7. nutcase_1uk

    nutcase_1uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Essex, unfortunately
    Ratings:
    +3
    I got a 3m one from http://www.lindy.com/uk/ as they were cheaper than my usual cable supplier videk, and there is a stupidly high guatuntee on them (20 years IIRC).
     
  8. EffTee

    EffTee
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'm seriously impressed by that Lindy site. It looks like a case of "if they aint got it, you don't need it"!!

    EffTee
     
  9. daren jackson

    daren jackson
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another alternative (which I use) is to use a KVM extender (Keyboard/Video/Mouse) that uses standard cat5 cabling upto 500 feet!. This means you can store your PC in a cupboard out of site.
     

Share This Page

Loading...