• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Long HDMI or Cat6.. Help please..

eric_the_red

Standard Member
Hi all, apologies if this has been asked but I have searched the forums and can't find exact answer. I am new to this and really could do with some advice. Recently bought a new 4K tv and I need to connect my TiVo, Roku3 and DVD player I have an under floor conduit to run cables however my problem is the 3 boxes that I need to connect are around 12metres away. I've read that HDMI is not advisable over 8metres, I've read up on these hdmi to Ethernet boxes (is it baluns?) and use cat6 cable however would I need to buy 3 of these - 1 for each device ? I'm concerned that behind my TV which will be wall mounted I will need 3 boxes ?
Any help and assistance you can give me would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Terminology first :)

The boxes are usually called HDMI over Cat5/6 extenders (baluns is also used but dont like that as its an old term meaning balanced unbalanced) . HDMI over Ethernet is a different thing though again some still use the term (incorrectly).

To connect three devices you would normally have either a HDMI switch (3 in 1 out) or an AVR amplifier with multiple HDMI inputs and 1 HDMI output.

Then a HDMI over Cat6 Transmitter with a Cat6 run to the TV location then a HDMI over Cat6 receiver to convert back to HDMI.

We always recommend a standard called HDBaseT for HDMI over Cat5/6 extenders as we have found it to be the most reliable and only uses one cat6 cable.