Long distance hdmi - cat help

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by seneca, Jul 6, 2018.

Tags:

    1. seneca

      seneca
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Jul 6, 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      birmingham
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hello,

      I'm a bit new to all this hdmi stuff, so please bear with me. Here is my set up

      room 1 - sky hd+ box with connection coming in from the dish
      room 2 - (15-20m run along outside of house) tv only
      room 3 - (15-20m run outside of house) tv only
      upload_2018-7-6_8-39-28.png
      What I would like to achieve is to have the sky hd signal in room 1, also come on in room 2 and 3. I only want to watch the same channel that is on the sky box in room 1 (it's for my mother who doesn't stray from an Asian tv channel, but occasionally goes in into rooms 2 &3. A way of getting her out of the living room (1) and around the house (2&3)

      How do I get the signal out of the sky hd+ box? What do I split it with for the 2 other rooms and what must it be converted to and back again for each tv in rooms 2 & 3? Can anyone recommend a cable to use and help me with a shopping list for what I need? Thanks.
       
    2. Joe Fernand

      Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2002
      Messages:
      27,044
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      The Borders
      Ratings:
      +3,166
      SD Distribution - which version of the SKY+ HD box do you have, do you have a TV aerial Distribution system in place and what size are the TVs in rooms 2 and 3?

      HD Distribution - there are a few ways you can go with this one:

      A. 1x3 HDMI Distribution Amp + 2 x 15m HDMI cables* (run within external grade conduit over the external sections).
      *You will need to consider Hybrid Fibre or Active HDMI rather than a conventional passive cable.

      B. 1x3 HDMI Distribution Amp + 2 x HDMI over CAT Extenders (using CAT6 + external grade conduit or external grade CAT6 cable).

      C. 1x3 HDMI+CAT Distribution Amp (using CAT6 + external grade conduit or external grade CAT6 cable).

      D. HD over RF - if you have a 'TV aerial' cables in place plus suitable Digital Tuners in TV's 2 and 3 you can add an HDMI to RF converter at the rear of the SKY+ HD box.

      E. Upgrade to SKY Q, pay the £12/month multi-room Sub and add SKY Q mini box's (£99/each) in Rooms 2 and 3.

      Joe
       
    3. seneca

      seneca
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Jul 6, 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      birmingham
      Ratings:
      +0
      Thanks for the response. I'm not sure which version of Sky + HD I have, how do I find out?

      These options seem good, if I can also split the signal at each room and have an ethernet connection for my future music server plan. Presumably, as I will have an ethernet connection in rooms 2 and 3, I could split the CAT6 into 2, so one for the tv and one for future ethernet use?
      Could you briefly explain the difference between options B and C. I'm new to these things and trying to get together a list of things I need and a sketch, similar to mine, of how it all goes together. Thanks.
       
    4. andy1249

      andy1249
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      May 7, 2006
      Messages:
      8,080
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +2,274
      HDMI over category uses the category cable to send a HDMI TMDS signal , not an ethernet signal.
      You cant split them.
      If you want ethernet as well. You typically need to run an extra category cable.
       
    5. seneca

      seneca
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Jul 6, 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      birmingham
      Ratings:
      +0
      Oh, well, live and learn. Is there a standard ethernet? which is the one go for, if I need to run one of those as well? I suppose a conduit with both is preferable, that way my cables don't need to be exterior grade and will be neater inside one housing.
      Still the issue of which of Joe's 2 options to go for, then I'll see if I can sketch a diagram and draw up a shopping list, to get it checked beforehand. Thanks
       
    6. Joe Fernand

      Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2002
      Messages:
      27,044
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      The Borders
      Ratings:
      +3,166
      Option C. where you have the Extender Transmitters inbuilt into the Distribution Amp (DA) is usually the better option as those devices usually offer you EDID Management plus ‘routed’ IR from the Zones back to the Source via the CAT cable which connects the DA to the Zone Receiver.

      Ideally you find a solution which powers the Zone Receivers over the CAT cable too - makes for a simpler installation at the rear of the TV.

      As Andy says your Network should run on a separate cable.

      Joe
       
    7. seneca

      seneca
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Jul 6, 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      birmingham
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hello again. Firstly, thanks to Joe and Andy for the useful advice. A few updates
      I've got a new updated sketch of my requirements and a pic of my sky box.
      Looks at costs and my needs - basic signal ie. what I get on my main sky box being sent to 3 tvs, I'm now looking at active hdmi, with all it's limitations, but it should give me the same quality of sky picture, shouldn't it?
      Any recommendations for decent exterior grade cables that can do this, preferably with a buying link, so I can compare prices? Afraid, whilst hybrid fibre may be better, my budget for 2 extensions will not manage it, particularly when the signal will now only be the sky signal.
      Thanks
       

      Attached Files:

    8. seneca

      seneca
      Novice Member

      Joined:
      Jul 6, 2018
      Messages:
      5
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      1
      Location:
      birmingham
      Ratings:
      +0
      Sorry folks. I had been comparing prices of active hdmi against hybrid fibre. Just realised I hadn't compared with cat 6 conversion. I'll have a look online for that and get back to you with options. Suppose I should have read up from previous forum posts, as it seems to have been asked before! Sorry
       
    9. Joe Fernand

      Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

      Joined:
      Jan 20, 2002
      Messages:
      27,044
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      The Borders
      Ratings:
      +3,166
      Your connectivity - will be:

      SKY Q > HDMI Distribution Amp (Input 1)

      HDMI Distribution Amp > Output A > Main TV

      HDMI Distribution Amp > Output B > Room 2

      HDMI Distribution Amp > Output C > Room 3

      Active HDMI - ensure you thoroughly test the above with any long cables or any extenders you select before you bury cables into walls or external runs.

      Control - don't forget about how you plan to control the SKY Q box from Room's 2 and 3.

      Joe
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice