Long distance hdmi - cat help

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by seneca, Jul 6, 2018.

Tags:

1. seneca

seneca
      Novice Member

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +0
      Hello,

I'm a bit new to all this hdmi stuff, so please bear with me. Here is my set up

room 1 - sky hd+ box with connection coming in from the dish
      room 2 - (15-20m run along outside of house) tv only
      room 3 - (15-20m run outside of house) tv only
      upload_2018-7-6_8-39-28.png
      What I would like to achieve is to have the sky hd signal in room 1, also come on in room 2 and 3. I only want to watch the same channel that is on the sky box in room 1 (it's for my mother who doesn't stray from an Asian tv channel, but occasionally goes in into rooms 2 &3. A way of getting her out of the living room (1) and around the house (2&3)

How do I get the signal out of the sky hd+ box? What do I split it with for the 2 other rooms and what must it be converted to and back again for each tv in rooms 2 & 3? Can anyone recommend a cable to use and help me with a shopping list for what I need? Thanks.

2. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
      Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
      Products Wanted:
      Ratings:
      +3,287
      SD Distribution - which version of the SKY+ HD box do you have, do you have a TV aerial Distribution system in place and what size are the TVs in rooms 2 and 3?

HD Distribution - there are a few ways you can go with this one:

A. 1x3 HDMI Distribution Amp + 2 x 15m HDMI cables* (run within external grade conduit over the external sections).
      *You will need to consider Hybrid Fibre or Active HDMI rather than a conventional passive cable.

B. 1x3 HDMI Distribution Amp + 2 x HDMI over CAT Extenders (using CAT6 + external grade conduit or external grade CAT6 cable).

C. 1x3 HDMI+CAT Distribution Amp (using CAT6 + external grade conduit or external grade CAT6 cable).