London St Pauls at night - advice

nzeaglei

Standard Member
Hi all

First post to the forum, so be gentle...:thumbsup:

Trying to get better at the photo taking game (arent we all!!), so I am looking for specific advice. First pic was taken back in Jan, the second two last month. I think the lighting is far better in the 2nd two as there is colour in the sky, versus the all black of the first shot, thats why I went back!

Im taking these with a Canon 350D with the kit lens....and have been taking these at an aperture of around 11. Am I right to use this aperture rather than say 22, as Ive read somewhere a long time ago that it causes problems, and also my lens is sharpest at between f8-11 also?

Other than that, any other ideas on how to improve my night shots?

jonnypb

I think they look good, prefer 2&3. Not a great deal you could do to improve them when using the kit lens. Agree with you as to not go to f22 in night time shots

denno75uk

I'm no expert but I can't really see room for improvement on these shots. Very high quality.
Can't wait to see more posts.

senu

Distinguished Member
I agree with Denno there..
Apart from being pleasing to the eye already .. they really isnt much more you can do to "improve" them.
You can certainly "change" them in Photoshop with HDR or such other techniques. This would generate different versions but not nessesarily better ones IMHO

I also agree that using an aperture of 22 may be counter productive in a DSLR with APS-C sized sensor , with your lens and especially as it is also a night time image and youd need either high ISO and/ or very long shutter speed to achieve adequate exposure
Well done:smashin:

ghibbett

Novice Member
Sorry but I disagree in that I believe there is some PP that can be done to improve images #2 & #3, albeit just a few small mods.