Logitech Z-5450 5.1 Speakers

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by gullarm, Apr 22, 2007.

  1. gullarm

    gullarm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Logitech Z-5450 5.1 Speakers

    I have had my 5.1 system for a week now and I pretty impressed so far, especially on Gears of War!

    Bit disappointed it didnt come with a TOS cable, bought one off ebay and then realised my old XBOX and PS2 both have optical outs as well, is there a 3-1 TOS cable?

    Anyway I also need some speaker stands for the rear speakers which are sitting on top of my sofa and keep falling off.

    Any ideas or suggestions, I dont want to fasten them to wall.

    Have looked around a bit, but could do with some advice.
     
  2. SibTiger33

    SibTiger33
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +238
  3. lightbulb

    lightbulb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +50
  4. RandomLee

    RandomLee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Just check my IP address
    Ratings:
    +2,948
    I'm seriously considering these speakers. Is there any delay in the rears, or any hissing? Cheers ;)
     
  5. gullarm

    gullarm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sounds great to me, no hissing or delay.

    Kicks out some serious sounds as well, I know its not the best system but for just under 200 quid what else can you buy.

    The rears are just what I needed, wireless cables, but they still need the power, luckily I have a plug socket behind my sofa.

    Nothing better then hearing gun shots and people running behind you on rainbow six, in fact its a bit spooky :eek:

    The only thing I found was that the 3 mains cables have Euro plugs on them, I think mine was from France ( www.pixmania.com ), replaced the main one with a spare power cable I had floating around, the other 2 for the rear speakers I chopped off and wired into one plug socket behind my sofa.

    The sub is also a bit large and the other half doesnt like it :oops:
     
  6. RandomLee

    RandomLee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9,175
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Just check my IP address
    Ratings:
    +2,948
    Cheers mate. They sound just the ticket. I was going to get from Pixmania too but I'm not sure if I can be bothered swapping plugs so I might see where else I can get them for the same sorta price.
     
  7. urbanlegend

    urbanlegend
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    i am looking to buy these but also worried i wont find any stands to hold them up.anybody got this system with speaker stands?
     
  8. gullarm

    gullarm
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have been looking for a set of stands for a few months now.

    No joy, may just have to make some, they keep falling off the back of my settee.
     
  9. F Nikk

    F Nikk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    I have the Z5500 and they bring down the house. Love hearing the engine noises of cars in forza 2 on it.

    Instead of getting a TOS box, you can just link it to your tv via the headphone jack input. Red and white mono leads at one end, a headphone connector jack at the other. The z5450's will emulate the sound.

    This works great for me to be honest.

    As for speaker stands, try richer sounds if you haven't already. This link will give you a list of all the stands they have available.

    http://www.richersounds.com/product...acturer=&SID=cacf6120db7ab34ac08f97999f2c927a
     
  10. careym

    careym
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    guys, ive just got some Logitech z-5500's and need to connect them to my Tosh LCD. Whats the best way? I use freeview though the Tv and have an Xbox 360

    Cheers in advance
     
  11. F Nikk

    F Nikk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    you obviously don't read what other write on threads, or in this thread for that matter. Read what I wrote above.:rolleyes: It's simple.
     
  12. SibTiger33

    SibTiger33
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +238
    dotn connect to tv

    connect to 360(optical) and the freeview box (via stereo)
     
  13. rio1981

    rio1981
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    4,788
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Worcester
    Ratings:
    +837
    No real need to get nasty was there?

    Besides, why would use a stereo only connection when there's a digital connection on offer? :confused:
     
  14. careym

    careym
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1

    I had free view intergrated that i was using. So it would be best to buy a freeview box and then get a optical cable for then 360?

    Cheers
     
  15. webbo254

    webbo254
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    I have the Z-5500's and they are amazing, there so powerful you wont believe it until all the neibourghs are complaining. For this reason I recommend them over the Z-5450's because the Z-5500's are more powerful and IMO they look better. Both will sound great though. You are losing the wireless rear speakers on the Z-5500's, but this isn't a bad thing because your not having to plug the rear speakers into the mains, which could be a pain. Personally I would rather just have the rear speakers connected to the amp:

    Review for Z-5450's...

    Quote: "While we're looking at the Z-5450 in this review, the Z-5500 has better specifications, so should be considered if you don't mind sending cables from the rear sats to the amp/woofer console. Check out our full review for more details"
     
  16. Hkem

    Hkem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +26
    Anyone had a report of z-5450's cutting across a wireless network? I worry about getting wireless speakers that run on the same frequency, or am I being naive?
     
  17. /ongbow

    /ongbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    My z-5450's hammer my wireless network when the rears are on.

    Quite an annoyance, and a common problem if you have a look at the Logitech forums. Changed all sorts of router settings, but to no avail.

    It's something that I can live with. I guess it depends on compatability of your router (mine's Belkin) and how much of a burden it will be to lose 90-95% of your wireless network when using the rears!?
     

Share This Page

Loading...