Question Logitech Harmony One with Apple TV 4K

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by CatManDo, Sep 5, 2018.

  1. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +253
    Hi all,

    Just got a new Apple TV, have added as a home cinema PC.

    All appears to be working however, when switching the activity off, the Apple TV appears to switch off but then comes back on a few seconds later.

    Also when starting the activity, the Apple TV starts with music playing, this is listed in the activity as:

    Apple Apple TV is set to "FrontRow"

    but I can't get rid of it!

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Thank you!
     
  2. Flashy

    Flashy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,132
    I had this with mine and can’t quite remember how I solved it. Won’t be able to check on My Harmony until the weekend but will try to remember.

    It was something like making the power-off command a series of ‘presses’. From memory, it was something like one of Menu to exit whatever was playing, one of Home to go to the home screen, a long press of Home to bring up the sleep screen and, finally, one click of okay/main button to confirm the sleep.

    Caveat: I think if you go to the home screen while music’s playing it’ll carry on playing, and may resume when you turn it back on. The only way round that might be to pause, as if you include the pause as part of the power-down process it could end up starting music/video.

    Not sure whether that’s helpful or not. If not, I’ll try to see how I’ve got mine set up when I can.
     
  3. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +253
    Thank you, yeah if you oculd share you settings whenever you get the chance that would be appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  4. RobTi

    RobTi
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Hamilton
    Ratings:
    +151
    Another who would be interested in the power off option, at the moment I have the atv going to sleep after 15 minutes to get round this
     
  5. mikelj

    mikelj
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,772
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +484
    I just set my ATV4k to ‘always on’ as it doesn’t consume much power anyway and choose ‘there are no power buttons’ in the Harmony device power menu.

    It’s quite handy as the ATV just reverts to the screen saver and will resume at whatever you where doing last.
     
  6. Flashy

    Flashy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,132
    Sorry for the delay. Just checked and it’s actually for the third-gen Apple TV. Sorry. But it should still work. I think...

    In Devices, the Apple TV’s power-off is set to be done with more than one button. Then:-
    • Menu – 2-second duration
    • A delay of 900ms (My Harmony desktop software says 900ms; iPad app says 0.9s)
    • Play – 3-second duration
    It relies on a video or music being paused before powering off. I think it should work on the fourth-gen/4K models if it’s tweaked to...
    • Home
    • Delay of 900ms
    • Home – 5-second duration
    • Delay of 900ms
    • OK (or whatever the Harmony command for the Apple TV remote trackpad being clicked is actually called)
    The delays are probably overkill, but work for me. Fingers crossed it works for these, but apologies if not.
     
  7. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +253
    Thanks very much for that mate, will give it a go cheers
     
  8. Flashy

    Flashy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,281
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,132
    No problem. Obviously after I posted it didn’t work properly for me, but fingers crossed!
     
  9. CatManDo

    CatManDo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    South Yorks
    Ratings:
    +253
    ok I've made some progress.

    I'm using the older Harmony Software 7.7 with my Harmony One.

    I've set the power on options for the Apple TV to be 'Home'

    Power off is:

    Home
    Home
    Select

    However I need the second 'Home' command to be held for a few seconds, ie the button held down.

    I can't find where to do this in the software, power on is ok it's just power off I need help with.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2018

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice