1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Logik 27" widescreen lcd from Currys

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by coolasacucumber, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive seen this set in Currys, would like any advice or thoughts on it, especially if I would be better off leaving it and spending more for the same size screen from a net based shop.

    It looks very very nice, I much prefer black plastic screens than silver, and this is majority black with a little bit of silver plastic casing.

    it only has 1 scart, has fastext, and nicam, but my main bugbear is that it only has a 24.8" visible screen.

    I am changing from a 28" widscreen normal tv, and could cope with loosing 1", but im not sure about the extra.

    it seems like a good price, especially with the obvious bonus of being able to go to the shop locally if there is a problem.

    Please comment, as I'll probably buy one tody if no has any negative reviews/thoughts etc.

    Many thanks. :)
     
  2. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just thought it would be worth noting the other screen i fancy is the Tosh 30wl46 from empire direct for £1066.

    its obviously bigger and a better make, but that £300 would allow me to get the Denon avr1905 to run along side it as well as cables.

    I will also be getting a new dvd player soon, i was hoping for dvi connections, which i believe the Tosh has, but presume the Logik wouldnt have.
     
  3. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. nickhor

    nickhor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    i too am thinking of buying the logik 27 for kitchen do not need many connections but want to know quality of picture??
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------
    nick h
     
  5. nig6

    nig6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +36
    I've got this tv and its brilliant, picture is excellent, sound very good.

    Only downside is analogue tuner is soso, but DVD and sky look great!
     
  6. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sorry if i dont understand this, but, if you watch tv through sky, then you dont need to worry about a digital tuner?

    i am new to the scene, im not trying to be cocky...!
     
  7. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Correct.

    Personally I thought the sound was dissapointing on this set, but overall it seems pretty good value. However I did sell mine soon after getting it and am about to receive a 26" Sharp....

    A 26"/27" LCD will probably have a bigger viewable screen than your 28" CRT TV as the whole area is viweable. For example my 36" CRT TV only has a 33" picture!

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  8. zawer612

    zawer612
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 26" Saishos' screen looks better, very good screen for the price imo, It costs £100 less too. Don't be misled by the screen size though as its visible screen size is larger than the logiks (26" Vs 24.8"). It's silver though :)
     
  9. nickhor

    nickhor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    Bought the logik 27 '' 3 hours ago ...computer vga excellent ,...component from DVD player v good ...but you must play around with shop settings ..drop brightness and adjust the focus button...Sky+ fed through a scart more than acceptable although slight smearing will put a better scart connection and try s video tomorrow ..really sensitive to the quality of the source but feed it well and it will reward The sound is ok but the tv has a sub out button and i have a just put M&K k9sub on it sounds really well balanced now ..eventually will use seperate sound system...well worth £799...:thumbsup:

    :
     
  10. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm, sounds pretty good, especially as they are in stock and its easy to change if there are any problems...

    nickhor - any pics of it in action please? are you going to wall mount it in your kitchen?
     
  11. nickhor

    nickhor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    Will get pictures up as soon as i can work my wifes digital camera ..going on the wall once I have purchased bracket ....currys wanted £160????????? emailed some companies today waiting for prices ...
    cheers
     
  12. nickhor

    nickhor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    222
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    cardiff
    Ratings:
    +5
    new feedback :sound without sub a bit thin need separate system or sub at least..just fed it 1280x1024 @60hz its native resolution from my laptop using 'powerstrip software ' a stunning picture resulted. :D.sorry if that is ott description but very impressed..
    this htpc route needs investigating
     
  13. coolasacucumber

    coolasacucumber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    im considering this set as my main tv linked through a denon avr 1905 and a decent set of speakers and dvd player, would it suffice as a main screen, as opposed to a kitchen screen? what do you think?

    cheers nick, presume that is your name!
     
  14. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    Mate, I'd say don't do it!

    Okay, if the price difference is significant then it is a maybe, but you can get the 26" Sharp online for around £920 and having had time to play with my new Sharp it utterly destroys this set.

    I can see significant improvements...

    Sport has none of the blur that I did experience on the Logik.

    Contrast is better.

    Sound is much better.

    The 'zoom' modes are better, the sharp has a great smart panorama mode for 4:3 signals, on the Logik you either watch it with large black bars and preserve the 4:3, or zoom in and lose a lot of the picture. If you use the smart mode on the Logik you get a HORRIBLE fish bowl effect. This is truely the worst smart mode I've ever seen on any 16:9 TV!

    It looks nicer (obviously a personal opinion).

    The remote is much better.

    It has a higher resolution (although the Logik did look great running the computer).

    Cheers
    Marc
     
  15. ukhoe

    ukhoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Marc - did you go for the GA3 or GA4
     
  16. uczmeg

    uczmeg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3,150
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +45
    GA3, as I wanted less width.

    As I may well take the speakers off anyway then there is no difference apart from a higher stand.

    Lovely set.

    Tried Halo 2 and Project Gotham racing in 480p through component. Lovely!
     
  17. dilligaf67

    dilligaf67
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the Logik 27", it is very good considering price. Does anyone know if it is VESA mounting compatable? No website for Logik can be found and the manual is none to helpful.

    What i require is a canterlever bracket, any help would be appreciated.
     
  18. HitmanIP7

    HitmanIP7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2003
    Messages:
    664
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +16
    I had one, and took it back.

    After a while it developed an annoying buzzing problem after about 30 mins of use. I was never completely satisfied with the picture either. No matter how much I fiddled, it wasn't any better.

    Mine was connected to a PC, which was the best possible connection on it. Im now planning on spening a bit more to go for a better make.
     
  19. TheBoingoBandit

    TheBoingoBandit
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +26
    I saw the Sashio 26-incher in Dixons the other day for about £699.



    The picture from a DVD playing on it didn'tlook at all bad for that price.




    Wouldn't buy one though!
     
  20. obarnes

    obarnes
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, has anyone found the Sky Remote code for the Logik 27" LCD?
     

Share This Page

Loading...