1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loewe Articos

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by telboy, Feb 27, 2002.

  1. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    :) I am about a week away (at last) from getting my Articos, has anybody seen this set and how does it compare to the Aconda or Vitros.
     
  2. Badger

    Badger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nope - but i'd be very interested to know what the new Chassis does, and what features the set has - as i'm presuming the Aconda chassis will be updated at some point soon.

    Do feel free to post once you've got it :)

    Phil
     
  3. priesh

    priesh
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi - I saw the set in Harrods when i went to see the 40" Aconda, and the articos has the best quality picture i have ever seen in any t.v. It beats all of the other 32" sets easily - you WILL like this t.v!! The colours are amazing, the picture is amazing - enjoy your new set :)
    If only they did a 40" articos.......

    Priesh
     
  4. ianw2

    ianw2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My new Aconda 9381 (delivered this month) I believe has the same chassis (Q2500/H) and sw (V2.2) as the Articos. It is certainly a different chassis from the demo models I saw (Q2400).

    ian.
     
  5. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    the acconda does not come with the Q2500 as yet.
    i'm told it will be quite soon..
    so if you really have the Q2500 good for you but i'd be surprised.

    as for the articos,read my post 7 weeks ago on it.
    yep, better in every way than the Q2400 acconda looks cool and remember two other new sets in the 'systems' range are following very soon as with an all new plasma
     
  6. ianw2

    ianw2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mo,

    My Aconda online system info says chassis:Q2500/H, sw:V2.2.
    This is different from Aconda display models I've seen, but
    the sw gui is the same as an Articos I saw displayed at my dealer.

    I haven't seen any specs available on the Articos. Its difficult to know what the difference is between the Articos and the Aconda, apart from appearance. Do you have any info ?

    ian.
     
  7. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    you must be one the first to have one.
    the articos i'm told is better in every way,picture & sound.
    go & see for yourself.
    all i'm saying is,for all of you paying £1800 or so,why not buy the articos for no more than another £100 max.
     
  8. dAvE6

    dAvE6
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm so jealous, and want a Loewe immidietly. It seems they are the only brand to fly above the many critisisms of 100hz tv's, with the added bonus of being upgradeble as new chip sets become available.

    questions:

    1. That Articos you mention. Won't that £1900 price you mention NOT include a stand?

    2. Would waiting for an Aconda with the same innards as the articos be a cheaper and more appropriate option?

    3. How can the picture be better?(Sound does not matter to me as i have a speaker setup).

    4. Is this a good time to buy a loewe? I.E Is it future proof enough if you buy the latest aconda/articos/vitros?

    6. The articos looks like a design line tv. It's an arty thing. Surely the innards will be comparible to an aconda. I assume all the extra money you pay is for the design of the set.
     
  9. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    I managed to get a price match via House of Frasier so it's similar money to the full price Aconda. I do not know if the Aconda will get the same media chassis, or screen. Looks are subjective
    As for futureproofing, who knows, if I had the extra money I would have bought a Panasonic or Toshiba plasma with a line doubler. I think this technology is the future, but only when prices come down.
     
  10. lloydo

    lloydo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Letchworth
    Ratings:
    +0
    tellboy, which House of Fraser did you get your Articos from and exactly how much did it cost, also did they do a 5 yr warranty on it.

    I'm waiting on Robert Wyte to give me a quote for this TV.

    Also, Mo do you work for a AV shop or do you just have 'connections'?
     
  11. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    House of Fraser Bromley - Robert Whyatt quoted £1799. The five year warranty will be extra, but you get a 2 year factory warranty with the TV.
     
  12. lloydo

    lloydo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Letchworth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers Tellboy

    So 1900 quid from HoF Bromley, I've got an itchy credit card!
    Have you got the Articos at home now, if you have was it 1900 well spent.
     
  13. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not yet, being delivered on Saturday. However I have seen one in Sevenoaks Hi-fi and it looks good, although it only had an analogue signal fed into it. It was slightly better than the Aconda and Vitros next to it.
     
  14. AV Geeza

    AV Geeza
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2001
    Messages:
    395
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Londinium
    Ratings:
    +3
    Telboy,
    Is the Articos about the same depth as the Aconda & is the surround made from aluminium or plastic?
     
  15. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    The set is bigger than the Aconda and about the same depth, from what I remember the surround was plastic
     
  16. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I didn't know there was a HOF in Bromley!


    Adzman
     
  17. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    :D Well after a long wait I have the Articos and installed it. Well what can I say, after buying the set without seeing it I am amazed at how good it is. My previous Sony 29" TV was good but this makes it seem ordinary. The images on all formats seem more natural, no harshness, DVD and Sky digital images are superb. After the sharp images I have seen on Japanese sets the Loewe seems soft at first but after a while you realise that the image is more natural and therefore more lifelike. Heartily recommended
     
  18. lloydo

    lloydo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Letchworth
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tellboy

    Had another look at the Articos in Harrods last night, great looking TV (should be for £2300). Asked the guy to put Waterworld on because if I see Bugs Life/Shrek/Toy Story on one more TV I'll do one!, these films look top on any TV. Waterworld started and during the opening flying through the clouds sequence saw quite a few digital artefacts, looked like black flecks similar to the ones you get on cinema screen. He blames the DVD disc (mmmmmmm). Do you think this was due to the digital processing of this TV? How is yours with DVD's, did it need tweaking?

    Cheers
     
  19. SiCotty

    SiCotty
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same problem with the Articos in Harrods. Went away not very impressed. Later on in the film on fast moving scenes the picture became almost unwatchable. Shrek was a little better but the 40" Aconda next to it looked much better in terms of artifacts. This makes me wonder if the set was setup properly or if it was running some early software?

    Si
     
  20. telboy

    telboy
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must admit I have not seen any problems via my DVD's. Some Artifacts are visible on sport, but these are I believe down to broadcast picture quality.
     
  21. Torque

    Torque
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    telboy, now that you have your Articos, can you please tell me whether it has split screen PAP?

    The spec on Loewe's website has a dash next to split screen, not very informative; it's hard to imagine a TV of this quality/price not having it but... please confirm!
     

Share This Page

Loading...