1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loewe Aconda/Denon DVD-2900 cabling

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by RumJoe, Sep 2, 2004.

1. RumJoe

RumJoe

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys,

I am new to this AV malarky and require some advice from the AV gurus. I have just decided to purchase a Loewe Aconda 9381 HD/DR+ and am going to get a Denon DVD-2900 to accompany it. It took me long enough to decide on these and now i have the cabling issue to contend with. Obviously I want to get some cable that is good enough to compliment the system and ensure that i get the most out of the equipment.

I was looking at a good RGB Component video cable but they dont carry sound do they? I havent got and wont be able to afford for a while any home cinema audio equipment so need the sound to be handled by the tele. Does this mean that i need to use a scart cable as they carry sound. Or is there some other way to use a component video cable and get sound.
    Is it true the the picture quality of a scart cable is nowhere near as good as on the component cable. Also, what is an RGB scart?

Please, please, please put me out of my misery. :suicide:

2. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    RGB is the English equivalent of the American component video. Ours is slightly more complicated as it was designed by a European committee. The quality depends on the manufacturers implementation but normally there is very little in it qualitywise. The Denon player that you are thinking of buying will output progressive scan from Region one discs via component outputs so if you play region 1 discs you would be better sticking with component rather than a scart.