1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

locked Grundig car radio !

Discussion in 'ICE, Sat Navs & Dash Cams Forum' started by docspawn, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. docspawn

    docspawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +23
    I have a Grundig car200 stereo that has a locked
    code on it, is there any way to reset it ?
    I think i've found the correct code now but after leaving
    it for weeks it still wont accept it !!
    All cause of a new battery !
    Cheers D.S.
     
  2. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +109
    I've found disconnecting and reconnecting the battery a few times can automatically reset a Grundig radio & you don't need the code - works on some of the Ford ones anyway. ;)
     
  3. docspawn

    docspawn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +23
    Thanks for responce , i'll try but not sure if that will do it.
    cheers D.S.
     
  4. Dave20

    Dave20
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    mmm.. so many things it could be.. turn unit on whilst holding AS button.. or having unit on for 2-3 hours usually unlocks
     
  5. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +301
    If true, it makes a nonsense out of security.
     
  6. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +583
    dont know if this thread needs answering :


    you switch the unit on within 3 hours it "resets" itself HOWEVER if you enter the INCORRECT code 3 times it shuts down and you have to "resets" the unit.

    Thats done two ways

    A reset code by Grundig who send you the same unit back with the same code as it was shipped with.

    B Go to a radio repair place who charge you a tenner and "decode" the unit by whiping off the existing code and installing a new one OR by REMOVING the code.
     
  7. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Only a tenner? !!!

    My local shop charges £15 - £20 dependent on model.

    Mind you, I know for a fact that he's so far spent at least £2500 on the decoding equipment and adapters, plus £800 for the PC, so I suppose I shouldn't complain.
     
  8. Ayub

    Ayub
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    6,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Bradford
    Ratings:
    +583
    i was told the equip is £800 and will work off any standard entry 166. Comes with all prongs and free updates.
     
  9. IANOLIVER

    IANOLIVER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    173
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    The correct way to enter the code on a Grundig CAR 200 and most other Vauxhall units is as follows.

    Turn the ignition key on, it must be on to enter code.

    Press and hold in the AS button and then turn the unit on, let go of the AS button after about 5 seconds.

    The display should show 10 ----

    Enter the code and press the AS button for a few seconds.

    If the display shows any other number followed by SAFE then the unit is in error, ie 8 SAFE

    Turn the ignition key back one position but do not turn the unit off.

    Wait for the error to clear. When cleared the unit will show the number followed by ----. Enter the code and press and hold in the AS button.

    9 and 8 SAFE are a 10 second delay, 7 is 10 mins, 6 is 20 mins and 5 is 40 mins etc.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2009
  10. chrisss3

    chrisss3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    although this is not what i actually asked for but enlightening imformation... i was actually asking fot the radio code... if that is possible...
    thanks
     
  11. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,369
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,478
    Not on this forum :lesson:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...