1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lockable phones ?

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones Forum' started by HMHB, Aug 7, 2003.

  1. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,085
    Do the modern phones allow you to lock the keypad etc so that you have to type in a pin number to unlock it ? My 3330 locks the keypad but you just press unlock and * to do it - even a 4 year old knows how to do that ! I'm looking for a bit better security when the phone is switched on.
     
  2. davescot

    davescot
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    As far as i know most phones nowadays don't, but i used 2 have motorola Timeport which had a lock feature like what u describe but im not sure if they still have this on their newer phones.
     
  3. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    My Siemens S55 has a security option for the screensaver, combine this with autokeylock and you get the solution. To unlock the keys and exit sceensaver it can be set up so that the phone code is required. The only thing is it doesn't prompt you for the code if you don't wait for the sceensaver to start (min timeout is 1 min).
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,085
    That Siemens certainly sounds interesting - I'll look into that. I've had a look at the motorola phones and can't see any info about being able to lock, maybe they stopped putting that option on - or they don't tell you about it in the sales info. It may be worth a trip to a shop to find out though.
    I think the phone manufacturers are missing out on a big security issue here - if you lose your phone or leave it on a table in a pub it is usually switched on so anyone who picks it up can use it.
     
  5. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    The Siemens will also allow you to lock the phone to just one SIM card :D So if the phone is nicked and they see your SIM has a PIN on it, they'll try another SIM only to find your phone will reject it :laugh:
     
  6. Gary D

    Gary D
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,784
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +838
    the only phone i know that does it is the nokia 7650/3650. once its locked it cant be unlocked without the code (even if you turn it off!!) you can also get a peice of sw off the web that if your phone is stolen you can send a text to it and it makes the an ear peicing alarm sound.

    i once had a panasonic phone that had a lock code too.


    Gary
     
  7. skyboot

    skyboot
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My e808 on 3 allows bot the SIm and phone to be locked
     
  8. rct

    rct
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    986
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South Wales, UK
    Ratings:
    +3
    All phones allow this... you may have misunderstood the original poster... ;)
     
  9. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,538
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    My Nokia 5210 has that (disableable) feature, so I imagine the new version (with the torch) will too.

    Love my 5210 to bits, but the OS is a bit slow at times :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...