1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Location free?

Discussion in 'PS Vita Forum' started by Spacecat, Oct 14, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +520
    so am i right in thinking
    i can pay $350 /£200 for a device that means i can watch my Tv shows or movies from my pc to my PSP as long as I Leave all my AV equipment on at home when i go away for a holiday and also happen to be near a high speed (not cheap) internet connection?

    why would i wanna do that when i can rip the good shows and movies to a mem card or USB2go had disk and take them, with me? .

    Why would i want to do it in my own house when i have a Tv or 2?

    whats the next firmware upgrade a new Mortgage deal?

    maybe i am wrong but Sony are really drip feeding this stuff and none of its that much use!

    IMHO of course
     
  2. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,017
    well if you make your descriptions like that, it'll sound useless. Lets try different situations.


    I'm away from home on business and have some time to kill in my hotel room in the evenings. I can either watch CNN or some local channels in a language I don't understand.

    Alternatively I can whip out my PSP, connect via wifi (company will expense me for 'connecting to the office remotely') and tune into coronation street. Or the England V poland game.

    Sounds a cracking idea to me.
     
  3. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +520
    so thats £200 plus leaving all my equipment left on and if i dont work for a company on expenses the cost of WIFI so i can watch
    CORONATION STREET!

    And if its a big footy game they will probably have it on in the bar anyway. Alternatively I could watch one of the many films I could rip to a memory card for free in better quality.

    sounds a bit pants to me!
     
  4. RobP

    RobP
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or I want to watch the TV whilst upstairs, or in the kitchen.
     
  5. drskhaled

    drskhaled
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +108
    oh and i'll have to change firmware to 2.5, and say bye bye to homebrew, pants.
     
  6. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +520
    No homebrew and i have a telly in the kitchen and bedroom, yep still pants 4me
     
  7. Jimbo73

    Jimbo73
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    They dont. I was in Germany when the match was on and missed it because no channel at the hotel was carrying it.

    And I missed Lost. And why bother burning movies to MS when you have Sky movies wherever you can get a WiFi connection.

    I can see how people who dont travel regularly wouldn't see the benefit of this feature.
     
  8. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,822
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +520
    There is never anything on Sky movies unless you like watching repeats of harry potter every 30 mins, dumped it a long time ago.

    sure the concept is not completely without merit , but give up home brew no thx
     
  9. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,417
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,211
    £200? Might as well buy 3-4 1gb sticks, and take a couple of fims with you
     
  10. chrislad

    chrislad
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Rep. of Ireland
    Ratings:
    +136
    While the technology is a huge step forward, I can't see it being of use for the PSP. It's nice that Sony supported it, but the fact that it works with a laptop PC negates the whole PSP front of it for the majority.
     
  11. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,508
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    Does it allow you to remotely change channel on your Sky system?
     
  12. Nasher79

    Nasher79
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know what this hardware is called? Or does anyone have a link to more info?? :thumbsup:

    Sounds pretty sweet to me, I do a lot of travelling and this would be ideal.
     
  13. Nasher79

    Nasher79
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    37
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh..... I see..... its actually called Location Free... :suicide:

    Ignore me!
     
  14. danwalton

    danwalton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,301
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +118
    Does it work with either analogue TV or freeview? I haven't got cable or sky but I am interested in this :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...