Question Living room setup

UChoudhari

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all, i have been reliant on this forum for all things related to AV for a while.
I have not used it for some time but am now finally in a position to build out a 7.1 for my new living room.

I am complete newbie and rely on reviews from experts on here and would be grateful for some advice.
I am building out a new living room (rectangular shape, 5m (l) x 3m (w)) and looking to prepare it for 7.1 system.
i already have a pair of PMC FB1 floorstanding speakers and am looking to add the following (based on advice from a local AV shop):
Cables - Atlas HYPER speaker cables for wiring the room
Centre channel - PMC Twenty5.C
Sub - REL T9 (or S3)
AV receiver - Arcam AVR 550

At a later date:
for rears: Monitor Audio Godl FX
For in-ceiling (dolby atmos): Monitor Audio in-ceiling (TBD)

other than the FB1s that i already possess, i dont have any knowledge of the other speakers.
I would be grateful for any guidance on this setup.

My budget is ~£5-7k

thanks in advance all!

I think I would decide if you will invest in a full, more integrated ATMOS set up. For me 5.1 is fine. The added cost and complexity means there will be a quality compromise, so I’d start 5 .1 or 7.1. The kit list looks good and I have heard good things about the Arcam at that price point.

Try not to spend too much on cables, but buying too cheap will compromise. Lost of debates on cables here as you know, so I will avoid that. Will this be in combination with a PJ or TV ?

PS, as your room is longer than wider, I personally find 5.1 can work well here as you do have some distance to the rears. Adding two more to the side might not add very much IMO. Being closer to the rears in my current set up makes integration slightly more sensitive to angle, position from my experience.

Hello, thanks for responding.
My main use of the system will be music and watching sports/ TV on a day-to-day basis and the occasional movies.