Live Host Apology

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by RedAl, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. RedAl

    RedAl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +3,988
    For any of you out there who happened to be playing COD4 online yesterday afternoon with me I have to make a very grovelling apology. I had to exit the game to see to my 2 year old and didn`t realise until too late that the new game we`d just started was being hosted by me. I`m happy to allow myself to be used as cannon fodder for anyone whose game I ruined.

    Can anyone tell me how I know when I`m the host of a game on COD4 free-4-all? Just so I dont do this again? I felt terrible once I realised what i`d done. :(
     
  2. Jambs

    Jambs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    [email protected] Internet Cafe
    Ratings:
    +19
    I was one of those affected. Me, The Yammbag & SchwettyBalls were gutted :) I think you should buy us all a Live Arcade game to compensate. :D

    I gather the host is chosen randomly mate. I can't see anything obvious but I stand to be corrected.
     
  3. RedAl

    RedAl
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    12,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Northampton
    Ratings:
    +3,988
    Get off my thread Mr M, or I`ll call in the moderators ;-)
     
  4. ajcham

    ajcham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    a little piece of England in Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +38
    How can you tell who the host is in any game (not just FFA)?
     
  5. is1111

    is1111
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,754
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +280
    yeah if anyone works out how you can tell who is hosting please let us all know. very annoying when host ends the game.
     
  6. daveon

    daveon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,635
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Washington
    Ratings:
    +126
    I have noticed a slight difference in the way the lobby adds uses.

    It appears as if users are being added to your party when your party leader is the match host, where as it appears as if you are being added to another party when someone else is the host.

    I THINK...
     
  7. aNinjaWhoNinjas

    aNinjaWhoNinjas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2007
    Messages:
    351
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +29
    The host is generally the first person to connect to the game, and will have the four full green bars, and if the game does end early you can usually see who was the host because everyone will have red dots and the host will have the full connection. But when it does say 'host has left the game' at the beginning thats not necessarily true, because when my brother is the host (can tell by first one in the lobby) no one can ever connect to him, and it always says he has left the game, even though he is still there.
     
  8. wellladida

    wellladida
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,687
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Jail cell 21236-386489
    Ratings:
    +203
    would be nice if the host just changes like in cod3 the amount of sado's that start ganes then quit them is one of the main probs with cod4
     
  9. Luteus

    Luteus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2007
    Messages:
    344
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +31
    Would be nice if the host just moved to the strongest connnection.

    It does seem to be completly random, the host ending game thing.

    I have had it where there were 4 of us in a party, joined a game we were the only people in the lobby therefore one of us was the host. And about half way through the game it ends due to the host leaving, we were all still there?? I have had that happen several times.

    It seems to be down to connection, connection errors tend ot happen when people join, i guess if you get enough people joining a game with bad connections it will fail.
     

Share This Page

Loading...