1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Live Dropped Connections

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Gary D, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    the two games i play online most (Splinter Cell:SC and Halo 2) have both been updated in the last week via Live.

    since then i've been suffering a lot of dropped connections and friends have told me the same story. pre update i'd not had a dropped connection in the two months i've been on live. it was so bad last night i stopped play altogther :( my internet connection has been fine i've not noticed any problems.

    So before i tear my home network apart and rebuild it has anyone else had trouble?

    Gary
     
  2. jibber

    jibber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yuuuuup

    same thing as you...

    the only thing that i found helped is b4 signing into live make sure you've reset your broard band modem and router if you have one, that seemed to help a bit for me..

    jibber.
     
  3. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    is it only over the last week or so that you've been having problems jibber?

    Gary
     
  4. -Spike-

    -Spike-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +203
    Been getting the same problems which began two weeks ago.
    My router logs no dropped connections at all, it's like a very small blip that is enough to knock me out of the game but not to drop the internet connection.
    It all points towards my xbox, lead or router port but I've now changed all of them and it's still happening.
    Plusnet, my ISP, are looking into it but atm can find nothing wrong.
    I wonder if it is something to do with the update?
     
  5. fatso101

    fatso101
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive had similar problems too. Play Halo 2 and since the new 5 maps became available Ive been having problems.

    The day they came out I couldnt play a full game without dropping. I just put it down to to download thrashing on the servers. Since then Ive been dropping out of games randomly. Id say about 1 in every 5.
     
  6. captaineyecatch

    captaineyecatch
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    2,013
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +21
    Its something to do with the auto update on Halo 2 - which removed the HD cache of all the maps from your Xbox, so loading maps will be a bit slower for a while. Plus it deleted the best host data, so perhaps people with not so good connections are being picked as host.
    It should settle down in the next week or so.
    Unless of course you are using Modded xbox's then thats the reason your are being kicked off live :D
     
  7. -Spike-

    -Spike-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    E.Sussex
    Ratings:
    +203
    Oh I see. Thanks for the replies, I'm glad it's not just me.
    Another thing I've noticed is that the xbox MTU and IC settings are showing as 0's for me. This has been since yesterday's auto update.
    I know for a fact my MTU is 1478 so I have no idea what is going on.
    I didn't realise they were re-setting the cache so hopefully the problems we are getting are to do with that and nothing else.
     
  8. jibber

    jibber
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    urrmm ever since i moved into my new house...., the old house i used to get it around once a week at the new place like every evening at least twice.. !..

    but yes since the update i've had it more often... :-(

    Jibber.
     
  9. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    i reinstalled my home network last night and it seems to be fine.

    captains comments above are very enlightening though.

    Gary
     

Share This Page

Loading...