Little Red Buttons & Sky Interactivity

Discussion in 'TV Show Forum' started by Lex, Aug 22, 2002.

?
  1. Yes

    1 vote(s)
    4.8%
  2. No

    16 vote(s)
    76.2%
  3. Only the Interactive Football and/or Sky News Active

    4 vote(s)
    19.0%
  1. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,

    I was so bored earlier I actually pressed the little red button to see what was there! :eek:

    Seriously, I know we all hate the red dot on the screen, but does anyone actually use any of the Sky interactive features?
    It seems the only things there of any interest cost money to dial-up and connect to (which basically means I don't touch them).

    I think Sky have really miscalculated their market by making us pay to use the interactive features, they just are not worth the money IMO - all of the online shops they have are available faster and cheaper on the internet; and do you really want to pay 75p a shot to play Space Invaders! :eek: (You can download it for free off the net!)

    Overall I think the whole interactive thing is poorly thought out, and I don't know anybody who uses any of it (apart from the footbal and Sky News Active).
     
  2. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    Never used it and I have never had my skybox connected to the phone line either. The only interactive features we ever used are the free games, beehive bedlam being a particular favourite. The wife keeps getting high scores and can’t submit them as the modem is not connected, possibly because I am a stingy git. Ooh is that a five pence peace on the floor.:D
     
  3. mcmullanbrush

    mcmullanbrush
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    1,137
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    rotherham
    Ratings:
    +0
    I found Sky to be one great big rip off. I stopped my subscription in November and I havent missed it at all.
     
  4. Squirrel God

    Squirrel God
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't have Sky. Never have, never will. But I voted 'yes' because I use the interactive features on DTTV (well, BBCi's the same isn't it) :D I wouldn't pay a subscription to use 'em though :rolleyes:
     
  5. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    42,089
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +7,634
    Lex you missed one off in the poll: Are You Flaming Sick Of The Red Dot?
     
  6. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,630
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    The only time that I have used the interactive features was during the recent One Day International series. Most of the camera angle options are as much use as DSP modes on an amp but one of the options gave you brief highlights, which is quite useful as even the most ardent cricket lover probably won't sit in front of his TV all day when the sun is shining outside and this gave you a chance to catch up on anything interesting.

    All those non cricket loving philistines please resist the temptation to trot out the old "paint drying" jokes as we've heard them all before.
     
  7. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    42,089
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you'll never see.
    Ratings:
    +7,634
    But you can watch the grass grow at the same time, literally.:D
     
  8. PoochJD

    PoochJD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2000
    Messages:
    11,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +1,861
    HI,

    I hate the stupid red dot icon's, and think they are an absolute waste of time and space.

    The only times I use my Sky interactive function is for:

    - Wimbledon (to switch between some of the various games)
    - The Commonwealth Gmaes in Manchester (to switch between events)
    - Battleship via Sky Digital.

    Apart from that, it's a complete non-entity as far as I'm concerned!

    Pooch
     
  9. Confucius

    Confucius
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +132
    I voted no, but I have pressed the red button - immediately followed by 'back up' of course to rid my screen of the curse of the red dot.
     
  10. wurzel

    wurzel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have "backup" programmed into one of the hard keys on my Pronto to get rid of it easily.
     
  11. squid

    squid
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2001
    Messages:
    546
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    the big uk
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did use interactive a bit , but that was befor the whole red dot thing just after open started ( played the games a bit) . It soon got very dull though .

    The only time that i have realy used the red button was when the walking with beasts thing was on bbc .

    The only real reson i see for pressing the red button at pressent is so i can press the backup right after to keep the bloody dot off the screen for a bit .The only thing i see the dot doing is putting people off the whole interactive thing , it being so fing anoying
     
  12. Bone Daddy

    Bone Daddy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2001
    Messages:
    502
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    west midlands
    Ratings:
    +3
    The only reason I use the cursed red dot is on sky news for their interactive pages - normally the weather ones,and most of the time the dot is not shown on screen,it is only when the button is pressed,does the thing show it self - now if only the rest of the sky channels would adopt this,then we would all be happy.
     
  13. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    663
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    btw,

    to everyone who presses red, then backup, you dont need to, just hit backup and it goes anyway :)

    Dave
     
  14. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ....then it comes back on after the ads, press red first then back-up it stays off for good untill you change channel. :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice