Little birds pt 3

I've been reading a lot recently that the 'best' way to get bird shots is using Back Button focusing, BBF, now I've never used it before, so thought I'd give it a go. set some buttons on the back of the R6 Af-on to spot focus and the * button to switch to eye-Af. I had been struggling, or the camera has :) to get locked on to birds, mainly when there's not much contrast or when you really need to pin point the focus due to branches etc. which is understandable really. So apart from a few seagulls and crows there didn't seem to be much flying today. So after 1:30 decided to trudge back to the car, another 30 minutes walking, and I passed someone by the river bank, we've just been watching a kingfisher for 10 minutes by a pond 200 yards along the river, before it flew off! Typical I thought.
Anyway found the pond and showered the vicinity and spotted it, sorted my thumb out pressing the BBF and switching to eye AF, I need some practice. And managed to get a few pics.
R6 RF100-500 1/400s, iso 2500, F8 at 500mm and a bit of a crop.
_94A7660.jpg

Had a walk around Balgavies for the first time in a couple of years, saw the ospreys but not close enough for a decent photo at 300mm, right at as I was getting back in the car this little Chaffinch landed very close and seemed to be posing for photos.

Not sure if a coot qualifies as small but it was nesting worryingly close to the path, given the disappointing amount of dog crap around the loch path I am concerned a dog off its lead could be bad for this bird.

Dusted off the 600mm f4 this weekend, checking back through my lightroom catalogue the metadata reveals I last used it 13 months ago. However saying that I've barely used any of my camera gear at all.

The only reason I took it out on Saturday was because the weekend before I found a Spotted flycatcher in a churchyard when sat eating a packed lunch in the sunshine, so hoped the weather would brighten up and offer the chance of a quick repeat showing.