1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Little amp

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jrenshaw, Dec 15, 2004.

1. jrenshaw

jrenshaw
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am far from an expert on these things in fact a total novice. What I want is an amp which takes up as little room as possible, that will take the inputs from my Xbox, DVD player and TV. I am not that concerned about having 5.1 either really, could do without all the speakers and cables. The key thing is that i need to save as much space as possible.

Anybody got any ideas?

2. Orwella

Orwella

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +31
    The smallest "proper" amp I could find was the Yamaha RX-V350. Depth was a problem for me and as this unit is only 300mm deep it fits perfectly in my av cupboard.

It does not have S-Video or component switching but I do not feed video thru it anyway. Sounds reasonably good paired with my Canton CD-1 speakers for both music and home cinema but it does seem to lack a bit in the "mid range" department. Or it could just be my poor cheap input sources.

3. jrenshaw

jrenshaw
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that, my problem is more width. :(

4. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    most are same 440mm wide (some high end kit Cyrus etc is half width) Pioneer VCXS402 is very low....... do you have speakers? as some all-in ones are smaller than normal....

5. Tejstar

Tejstar

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +990
    Agree with hornydragon, the only slim decent amps are in the Pioneer series - have a look there!

6. jrenshaw

jrenshaw
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0