1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lips Sync

Discussion in 'TAG McLaren Audio Owners' Forum' started by Doodle, Dec 24, 2004.

  1. Doodle

    Doodle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, though I bought my TAG gear new in June I have only just set it up as the plasma has just arrived.

    I have DVD32FLR PSM, AV32DP and Samsung PS42 Plasma. After boring my girlfriend silly about how good it will be, she has started nagging me as there is a lip sync problem, people are heard then there lips move. I have the DVD connected to the screen via a DVI cable and I am running the AV32 into an Audiolab 8000P power amp (so only stereo as I havent been able to choose an amp yet (Chord any good with Tag?)).

    Can someone tell me how to delay the sound to match it with the lips (does the AV32 need to connected to the screen to do this?).

    Thanks and Happy Christmas! :cool:
     
  2. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Doodle

    You'll have to try it and see. Start off low and work your way up :smashin:
     
  3. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    I think Kenny is right, Doodle.

    You have to do it with a track that has big images of faces and it has to be one where the DVD has decent lip synch in the first place. Then adjust it until you you can hear the sound track over your girlfriend's nagging.

    A DVD I'd recommend if you can borrow one is the Rocky Horror Pciture Show. The first few minutes is perfect for this requirement. With luck, you'll get more recommendations from the others.
     
  4. Doodle

    Doodle
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Should have read the manual, but was too excited. Have now connected AV32 to screen via S Video and have used menus. I had to set the delay to 230ms to get it looking right. Is this lenght of delay normal? Lucky it wasnt further out or I would have run out of delay (250 max).
     
  5. geeWcee

    geeWcee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,402
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +25
    Wow...that IS a lot...
     
  6. simon40

    simon40
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2003
    Messages:
    191
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +4
    Doddle,

    That does seem quite a delay. However, if it works so be it.
    To give you some idea I normally have to delay sound by 40 ms to lip sync ok with video (via the scaler).

    Simon
     
  7. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    My scaler demands about 50 - 60 mS.

    I remember asking TAG if I could have more than 50 mS and they explained how much resource it took to hold even that much. The very next release of the software had the increment I needed. They didn't splash it over the pages of the whole Home Cinema press, they didn't even mention it - they just did it. We was spoilt!.
     
  8. Kenny Glasgow

    Kenny Glasgow
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Livingston, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +225
    Edward

    Sad but true :mad:

    Doodle

    If that's what it needs :thumbsup:
     
  9. hoosterw

    hoosterw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in NL near Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anybody perhaps knows of a way to have a 'one' button lip sync delay change for adjusting per DVD? Like de sub +/- adjustment
    Some DVD's need adjustment against the setpoint Going through the whole menu is a) a hell of a timeconsuming work b) it won't reset easily for the next DVD.

    Rgds Hans
     
  10. muellec3

    muellec3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hello Hans,
    You can use the "Quick Settings" to achieve this. In order to do so change your setup in the menu as follows:
    Digital Audio Inputs - DVD32 - Additional Settings -
    and set the Default Cursor Key Mode to: "Quick settings"
    Now you can change the lip-sync during playback with the left and right arrow on the remote.
    Have a lovey xmas
    Chris
     
  11. hoosterw

    hoosterw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in NL near Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Chris,

    I will try it this evening Thanks.

    Same to you on Xmas.

    Hans.
     
  12. jacovn

    jacovn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    There are also test patterns for it, like on digital video essentials chapter 16 title 5 "A/V timing clock"


    Jaco
     
  13. hoosterw

    hoosterw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in NL near Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, getting it right is not the problem I do use DVE, it is that some DVD's have a bad lip sync and therefor your 'right' setting is 'wrong' and you need adjustment for that specific DVD and afterwards it need to be returned to 'right'. And I would prefer a quick one button setting on the remote.
    I am going to try today.

    Rgds and Thanks Hans.
     
  14. edward

    edward
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    855
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +26
    Lets see what Stevesky has to say. I'm sure he's thought of it.

    I recall a change from the days when you had to explicitly save your settings if you wanted them to persist but a temporary tweak for a given DVD sounds like the sort of thing that would be needed so...
     
  15. hoosterw

    hoosterw
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    in NL near Eindhoven
    Ratings:
    +0
    Chris,

    It works perfectly.

    Thanks Hans.
     
  16. GrahamMG

    GrahamMG
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    4,449
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +192
    I remember having a big discussion with Udo on larger lip sync delay settings due to the CineVersum being installed which was supposed to add a "significant" video delay, Udo was surprised that I might need 150ms or so but worked some magic and came up with a 250ms max setting. The funny thing was that in practice 50-60ms was actually enough, maybe Barco listened to Udo and his "remarks" on such massive video delay's within PJ's......
    Like Edward says, we were spoilt...
     
  17. dvdviewer

    dvdviewer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Quick Settings buttons are a life saver. I find that different DVDs need different levels of lip sync correction. Also, I find that on some DVDs the lip sync correction varies between different parts of the movie. TV broadcasts require another level of correction. Sometimes a broadcast requires different correction for different parts of the same programme, typically when footage from a separate source is inserted.

    Has anyone else noticed this?

    Lip sync problems are more noticeable on the 42" plasma than on my 20" old CRT, but if I look carefully even that has lip sync issues. Over Christmas I was also able to spot it on a variety of TVs. I originally assumed that the extra processing of the Tag caused the problem, and this is probably still a factor, but I also think that the large screen makes it easier to spot the mismatch between sound and picture.
     

Share This Page

Loading...