Lip Syns Issues

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by D8UGF, Nov 13, 2004.

  1. D8UGF

    D8UGF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, just what you all need another newbie in the plasma section! :hiya:

    I have pretty much settled on buying the Panasonic TH-42PWD6, but after a trip to my local panasonic shop for some "advice" I have left a little confused and was wondering if you can help.

    I currently have a pansonic SADT100 Home cinema system and a crap freeview box and figured that the freeview will act as a tuner for this screen, but after speeking to the panasonic guys, they said that if I used a panny screen that does not have a built in tuner I will have lip sync issues, and that it will be not only for the freeview box, but also the home cinema system.

    Is this correct as the blokes in the sony shop said he was talking nonsense!

    Thank in advance

    Dougie
     
  2. grahamtriggs

    grahamtriggs
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +33
    Lip sync is always a potential issue when you have a seperate sound system from the display. It's not something that is magically going to fix itself by having the freeview tuner built in to the display.

    To put it another way, I don't want to tell you that you definitely won't have lip sync issues, because you might. It's just that having the freeview tuner built-in to the set won't stop you from getting them. If you have a lip-sync issue, then you need an amp that can delay the sound to match the screen.

    Sounds like they are just trying to upsell you to a Viera.
     
  3. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    some sky channels have it, others don't
    it makes no diff whether freeview is built in or not.
    a £200 amp can cure the problem, but its not that bad
     
  4. brackenlamb

    brackenlamb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    , i occasionally have lip synch issues ,thats with sky +,but this could happen on any display.
     
  5. D8UGF

    D8UGF
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys,

    Graham your spot on with your deduction, the very next thing he mentioned was the Viera system. Quote of the day was "It can be really bad... up to 1 sec!"
    Are some plasma screens better than others for lip sync?(excuse me being a noob) and would it be erradicated(sp?) by the display having its own speaker system?

    I appreciate your views on this folks, wouldnt want to spend the cash on a plasma then have something bug me about it! As you say PJ, it can be sorted by a decent amp.

    Thanks

    Dougie
     
  6. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43
    Does lip synch delay happen often enough to have a permanent delay set on the amp?

    Would 5 ms be enough?
     
  7. NeilA

    NeilA
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having the same issues with a Pioneer 434HDE with a run-of-the-mill Pace Sky digibox. Some channels are just dreadful whilst others aren't too bad, which makes compensation thru' my amp (a Yamaha 750SE) a bit awkward. Does anyone know if there's any Sky or Pio set-up option changes I can make to compensate?
     
  8. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43
    I've been reading back over the old lip synch posts.

    Some quite alarming posts too.

    It seems that unless you have an amp with built in delay features or an outboard solution, lip synch will be a problem. :eek:
     
  9. hailesy

    hailesy
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Swansea, Wales
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi there,

    I have a PWD6. Had it for 3 weeks now....

    Set-up....

    Videologic Digitheatre (don't think this amp has delay) and JS Convertor and Normal Sky via Digi Pace Box.

    No Lip Synch Problems at all. :smashin:

    ps. superb piece of the kit the Panny :)

    Hope this helps.

    Mark
     
  10. lidders

    lidders
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    beverley
    Ratings:
    +0
    All I can say is that it happens on some of the channels on sky and not on others.

    have PW6 and sony amp most of time not an issue to me.

    LIDDERS
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    The PW is a 'fast' panel in my experience. I find the screen most likely to give you problems is the MXE1 pioneer, but as it's generally installed as part of a fairly high end install, the means will be there to overcome it. I've installed about 100 PW6 panels over the last 12 months, and I don't recall seeing anything worse than the odd dodgy sky channel with lip sync problems. Sounds to me like he wanted to sell you a Viera. My advice is to go to a proper dealer and get some proper advice. [email protected] are not what you'd call a specialist shop, no different to John Lewis for knowing their stuff.
     
  12. LCDRulz

    LCDRulz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hailesy,

    We have the same kit list :clap:

    Are you using individual remotes or have you found a universal that can at least switch and control vol on the Digitheatre ?
     
  13. General Skanky

    General Skanky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2000
    Messages:
    4,247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +43

    Very concise answer. Thanks. :smashin:

    Between you and Hornydragon I now know pretty much all I need to know with tiny doubts, to go ahead and buy a pw6 for myself.
     
  14. tut.tut

    tut.tut
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a major lip sync problem with all my hook ups. Gutted.
    see my post. tut.tut
     
  15. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Not so ! No lip sync problems on my Hitachi 42PD5300 and Yamaha RXV640RDS amp :smashin:
     
  16. MaxxUK

    MaxxUK
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nick,

    I have the 42PD5300 and an having lip-synch problems using just the std audio out. Now, as others have said, some SKY channels seem to introduce their own lip-synch issues but as a general rule (trying all manner of inputs) I do have a very small, but noticable, delay between sound and vision (sound ahead of vision). I will say that it is only noticable when you see a large face speaking (i.e. news programs).

    Did you ever run your 5300 on standard audio out (i.e. not through amp)? Did you notice any synch issues?

    TIA

    M.
     
  17. cadmeister

    cadmeister
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2002
    Messages:
    107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Milton Keynes, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    For what it's worth, I have a 5 series Panny that I've had for 2 years. For the first 3 months I was totally obsessed with Lip Synch (there are several postings on the subject). And I mean obsessed. I even tried using my multi effects units from my music rig to delay the signal, and exchanged muchos email on the subject with fellow contributors. But you know what? After a while I stopped worrying about it, I don't know why, but I did. Sure, I get the occasional issue with a particular SKY channel, but on the whole I never notice it. I just enjoy the panel.. and two years on it puts just a big a smile on my face as when I first got it.
     
  18. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    When I first got the plasma I connected the Sky+ box directly to the TV for test purposes. No sign of any lip-sync issues. I also have a freeview box which does not go through the amp - no lip-sync issues. The only lip-sync problems I see are on the "cheap and nasty" channels like ITV2 and ITV3, which have all sorts of encoding problems. I am a fan of "Chicago Hope" and "LA Law", and watching them is a real pain, because of jumpy pictures and sound.

    Maybe it's a Sky box problem ? I am an ex-TV-engineer, so I do notice problems that some other people would not.
     
  19. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,673
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    It's not a real solution but I do find resetting my Sky+ box (pace) does temporarily cure any lip sync issues but I only get them very occasionally anyway.
     
  20. Rambles

    Rambles
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    8,471
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +1,352
    I have the TH37PW7 panel, with a Pace Twin Hard Drive recorder Freeview box through scart input, sound is done through Cambridge Audio Azur digital surround amp.... I haven't noticed any lip synch probs at all.
     
  21. RichardHannan

    RichardHannan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Re. Audio delays, my Sony reciever has settings to adjust the distance of the speakers from the audience - i.e. +0.1m , +0.2m etc.

    Is this the same as introducing a delay to reduce lip-sync problems ? Or do better audio systems have other functions to do this ?

    (I am guessing that if I set the speakers to be +10m the audio will be sent to the speakers earlier than when thay are set to 1m (for example) by however long it takes sound to travel 9m in air - or is it more complex than this ?)

    I would add that I do not pass the video signal through the reciever, only the sound- again, I assume this must make a difference. [ .... :blush: at having payed a few hundred pounds for a home cinema set up then never got round to setting it up properly :suicide: ]

    Thanks

    Richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice