Lip sync

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Bat-man, Mar 15, 2006.

1. Bat-man

Bat-man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +525
    Just a thought.
    Is there any gizmo out there where you can plug your HDMI lead into it and then another HDMI lead to the TV and you can adjust the sound delay? Not a 'full blown' amp.
    Also - I hope, with all the picture processing involved with 1080p scan on the up-coming HD players, that the lip sinc won't be rearing it's head again.

2. stumpy77

stumpy77

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Im a bit of a noob to all this av setup but would the lip sync still occur if you used a hdmi cable to the tv plus either an optical or coaxial cable to the amp and have the sound thru a surround system . Reason for asking is im looking a various players but im put off by lip sync issues however I will mostly listen to dvds thru my amp.

3. KinkyAffro

KinkyAffro

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +164
    Sorry, and another newbie question here :blush:

Is the lip synch problem only noticeable on hdmi connections or can component display it as well?

Thanks.

4. Dolphin

Dolphin
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would also like to know the cause(s) of lipsync problems and how to get rid of them, hopefully before my next upgrade.

Anyone know if this problem has been solved for the upcoming HD movies?

5. Joe Fernand

Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,515
    Hello all

Lip-sync occurs when you introduce any advanced Video processing to your system (which takes a few milliseconds to undertake depending on what processes your running) but don't delay the Audio by the same degree.