1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lip Sync Probs - Can they be avoided ?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by RuddyRoad, Jan 26, 2005.

1. RuddyRoad

RuddyRoad

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,445
    Hello there

I am in the throws of getting myself a new set up, and have basically decided to go for one lead to the plasma (either a panny pw6 or pw7), by routing all my inputs through an AV receiver (probably the Pioneer), and taking the RGB output through a JS RGB > VGA into the display.

Some people on this forum have reported lip sync problems with various types of set up. I'm sure there will be no hard and fast rules here, but are there any obvious pitfalls to avoid ??

Any help would be appreciated. Despite sort of sounding like I know what I'm on about in the first paragraph, I'm really a bit of a newbie.

Many thanks.

Dave

2. Liam @ Prog AV

Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +827
    Ideally you want to get an AV amp with audio delay built into it. This way you adjust an appropriate amount of audio delay to compensate for the video delay. Lip Sync is more obvious on systems using external video processing, many simple plasma + DVD + Sky installs I do don't need to involve a delay box.

Regarding switching then using RGB-VGA - this will only work for sources which have RGB scart outputs (many DVD players, Digiboxes) but not VCRs, older cable boxes and games consoles that do not have the optional RGB scart leads.