1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lip Sync Problems with Philips 32PF9986...

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Phill_1981, Mar 11, 2005.

  1. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    Is this a known problem with the Philips because it is really bugging me, sometimes its not there but other times its very bad - should I send the TV back?
     
  2. Rob1698

    Rob1698
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The 9986 is one of the few sets that has an audio delay line to compensate for lipsync problems often seen on LCD TVs...
     
  3. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    Check this first Phil, watch the TV on a standard terrestrial RF signal. Does the Lip Synch seem OK? Usually LipSynch actually eminates from the STB. We all get it from time to time, but usually only on good old Sky!

    Jimmy
     
  4. jgrg

    jgrg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes, I notice it most often on ITV3 on Sky. (I sometimes saw it with my old ondigital box - where switching to another channel and back would fix it - but this has no effect on my Sky box.)

    James
     
  5. Warp

    Warp
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    69
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I used to have this problem when I had my sky ouputting audio directly to my amp. Now I send sky audio to TV using scart and then connect TV audio outputs to amp. I don't get any lip sync problems now.
     
  6. Rob1698

    Rob1698
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That is because the TV delays the audio...
    But as others wrote too, I also sometimes have (very severe) sync problems that originate in my sat receiver. Stepping the channel up and down fixes that.
    This has nothing to do with the TV, of course.

    I also have a (much cheaper) Dell TV and it does not have the audio delay. On such sets, the audio is always ahead of the picture by some tens of milliseconds. This is visible.
     
  7. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    hhhhmmmm, so it looks normal then and i'll have to put up with it :thumbsdow
     
  8. jimsan

    jimsan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Dumfries, SW Scotland.
    Ratings:
    +9
    You shouldn't have to put up with it. It should be perfect most of the time. If you are detecting a consistent LipSynch problem then something is wrong. Have you tried it on Terrestrial yet?

    Jimmy
     
  9. Phill_1981

    Phill_1981
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Woking, Surrey
    Ratings:
    +44
    all seems ok at the moment, but as I say, its not all the time...
     

Share This Page

Loading...