Lip Sync on HD-XE1

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by rulocal, Sep 9, 2007.

  1. rulocal

    rulocal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,647
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +294
    Will Toshiba ever sort this out. I am really thinking of selling my HD player because of this. Initially it did not annoy me but I am now noticing it more and more, albeit only on SD DVD. Using delay on my amp does not really work either as the lip sync error seems to vary from disc to disc and scene to scene.

    Has anybody heard of any developments on this problem.

    Cheers.
     
  2. kmark40

    kmark40
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Antipodes
    Ratings:
    +42
    unfortunately, mine was only eradicated when I switched to connecting to my amp via hdmi rather than analogue 5.1. Not an issue at all anymore :)
     
  3. brian s

    brian s
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    55,827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Alice in Sunderland,Tyne&wear
    Ratings:
    +15,222
    My lip sync was intoduced via a firmware update from Toshiba. They later sent me a 1.5 update which they reckoned would cure it. It improved the situation but by no means cured it. There has been another update since then which I haven't got. I don't know if it helped with the lip sync but I've read elsewhere in these forums that it introduced video judder problems. There's another one due this month to make the machine 24fps. I don't know if it'll do anything else or have any unwanted side effects.

    I've been looking at switching units that can handle upto three 5.1 sound outputs and HDMI. I thought I might be able to correct the problem with this but your comments on attempting to do it via your amp has made me think again.

    What firmware update are you on? Don't laugh too loud when I suggest this but have you contacted Toshiba for help.?

    Cheers
    Bri
     
  4. Scottyyy

    Scottyyy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Liverpool
    Ratings:
    +13
    Is this a known problem with the E1 too?

    If so then there's no way I'm buying one. Lip sync problems really annoy me.
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    5,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +263
    The E1 doesn't have 5.1 analogue output.
     
  6. Adam_uk

    Adam_uk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,900
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Newbury
    Ratings:
    +94
    my XE1 had this on some discs, but since firmware 2.0 its pretty much all gone.
     
  7. HawkeyeGnu

    HawkeyeGnu
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes, I too suffer from lip sync problems with the XE-1 on SD-DVD (analogue to amp or HDMI to Pioneer 506XDE) . As you so rightly say, the delay is variable, so unfortunately an amp with adjustable delay is probably the best option you're going to get, new firmware or not :(. I'm currently looking at my options for a new receiver.

    It's a pain in the neck, but the picture quality is so far above anything I've experienced (on SD), I'll put up with it for now.
     
  8. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +488
    I updated my firmware to 2.0 before i used my XE1 and can honestly say that i have never noticed any Lip Sync problems.

    I use digital out for SD discs and 5.1 out for HD's both without a hitch :thumbsup:
     
  9. pythagoras

    pythagoras
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    549
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +95
    Why digital out for sd? And do you mean hdmi or optical.

    Regards

    John.
     
  10. brian s

    brian s
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    55,827
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Alice in Sunderland,Tyne&wear
    Ratings:
    +15,222
    Have you noticed any other problems since th update?

    All the best
    Bri
     
  11. stevefish69

    stevefish69
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    4,280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +488

    Sorry.

    Co-ax Bitstream out to my A11SR where the processing is done
     
  12. shilv

    shilv
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    337
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    A Town called Malice
    Ratings:
    +54
    I do the same without any problems. If I use the 5.1 analogue out for SD DVD then I do experience lip-sync issues - using the digital out cures this (though I have to remember to change the XE1 to 'Bitstream' output as it is set to PCM for HD DVD for the bass management work-around).
     
  13. eggybread

    eggybread
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm still getting lipsync on most of my SD-DVD disks. I contacted toshiba on [email protected] and asked them [1] when is the next firmware release, and [2] will it fix the lipsync issues.
    They replied:
    Not hugely useful. I replied, asking them why they didnt seem to know anything about their own products. Wonder if they reply to that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...