LIP-SYNC DELAY - Video is ahead of audio, how to fix it???

MacF55

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

This is my first time posting, please be kind as I am new to this and value your opinions.

I have just set up a 5.1 surround in my room and after connecting everything the lip sync is annoyingly out. My AV receiver is a Denon AVR x2600 and I have Kef 3001’s with a BK sub. My TV is a Samsung 4K 55” MU6400.

After reading a lot of posts on here I still haven’t found out what the key problem is and how it can be fixed. I have the AVR connected to the TV via hdmi arc and also an Xbox connected to the avr. I am finding it is most out of sync when I play content through the TV’s built in streaming app. If playing content through the Xbox it is not as bad.

As the video is ahead of the audio I cannot use the in built audio delay on either the TV or the AVR. I have tried to ad as many enhancing processes to the video in the TV but I am probably missing something.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Mac

It could be a handshake issue. Turn the TV off and back on to force a new handshake. If that doesn't work then turn off the receiver and then back on. It happens with my Denon X6200 and a Panny OLED. Turning off and on usually cures it.

If the video is ahead of the audio, you definitely have an audio delay configured somewhere, which is too large. The Denon AVR-X2600 defaults to automatic delay configuration (the actual amount is established by the TV). See page 173 of the manual (AVR-X2600H) for how to adjust the Denon's lip sync delay. You'll also want to check your TV's setup to see how it handles delay internally, it may also be automatic, and you only want this done once (TV or AVR, not both).

Thank you very much for your replies Gibbsy and Mark.