lip sync again

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by davee, Mar 16, 2006.

Tags:
  1. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    I have tried to adjust the lip sync via the av32r menu but I cant get the lip sync item to respond to the enter key on the keypad. Every other command responds ok. I have read the manual... what am I doing wrong? :lease:
     
  2. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    Have you tried to hold down the OK key on the remote for a couple of seconds? After a few seconds you get a menu where you can scroll down. Select Quicksets (can't remember the exact wording, but it shows on the AV32's display as well as on the screen for the OSD output) and then press the OK key.

    Now when you press the Left key (>) on the remote you can add +10 ms for every press of the key up to +200 ms. :thumbsup:

    To lower, use the Right key (<), you can't go below 0 ms.

    Really neat if you ever so often switch between the telly and a projector... :)

    However, this isn't a permanent setting, so if you want that you have to go into the menus for the that specific input and do the settings there.
     
  3. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Its the permanant setting I'm having trouble with. Also is it only by trial and error that you get the lip sync right? Its not so bad when people are talking slowly but on fast dialogue like in pride & prejudice its really impossible. Presumably the setttings should be the same for everyone using the av32 and dvdflr without additional processing so what do other people use?
     
  4. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Dave:

    Unfortunately yes -- it is only by trial and error that one gets the lip sync spot on...can be a very frustrating process...best of luck...
     
  5. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27
    First the standard procedure for setting permanent lip sync:

    Select Change set-up > Input options > Analog/Digital Audio Inputs > input of choice > change setting under Lip Sync Delay

    This setting will be the "standard" from which you may have to deviate via the Quick Settings option (no. 4) depending on audio source. If you like me, watch an AVI file every now and then, then you'll definately need to change this every now and then.

    Some rough settings: I run my video through a Lumagen Vision processor before hitting my CRT front projector and I have a standard lip sync delay setting of +40 ms. I use the same for DTV, however it happpens that as the Dolby Digital broadcast at times is too compressed for my liking, I sometimes use the DTV video but the VCR analog Audio instead (DPLIIx is really fantastic with some standard audio broadcast), but then I have to use +140 ms! to get it right when watching the CRT FP.

    For ordinary watching stuff on the telly without any rerouting of video through processing I change it to 0 ms via the Quick Settings keys (for instance, I have 0 ms, the default, as standard setting for my VCR).

    For finding a standard setting I recommend you to use the DVE Title 11: Sound and Vision timing. Or you can look at people talking, listen and look for 'p', 'b', 'm', 'n' (bilabials) and 's' sounds.

    Also, be aware that not all DVD are correctly sync'd! So it might also be a DVD mastering error.

    Cheers
     
  6. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Thanks Bogi I'll give it a try at the weekend. Are you using the Lumagen to change the lip sync to +140ms. The tag only goes up to +100ms
     
  7. Black 5

    Black 5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2000
    Messages:
    367
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'm sure the dual processor goes higher - 250ms?
     
  8. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Ok Ok, dont rub it in :(
     
  9. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5

    Davee:

    Question...where does the Lumagen allow for lip sunc settings as I have not seen this in ANY of the menus and I have been through ALL the menus.

    Cheers,
     
  10. parky43007

    parky43007
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Messages:
    235
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Tarragona
    Ratings:
    +16
    Joel,
    It doesn't. I suspect that Bogi is using his AV32R DP to get to 140ms
     
  11. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Dunno I havent got a Lumagen, it was just a question,:p so I guess Parky has hit the nail on the DP. Sorry to have sent you through all of the menus
     
  12. Bogi

    Bogi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    403
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Sweden
    Ratings:
    +27

    Correct, I'm using the DP32R for that. :smashin:

    Which does +250 ms...:thumbsup:
     
  13. Miron

    Miron
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Vienna, Austria
    Ratings:
    +56
    Yes, this sort of setup can really require quite a high delay.
    I have 180ms as default for DVD32R into Lumagen into Pioneer Plasma, and know someone who has 200ms as default on the same setup.
     
  14. davee

    davee
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    twickenham
    Ratings:
    +57
    Well I've managed to change it and set it from the original 0 to 40 then 80 now 100 and its still not right. This is ludicrous :mad:
     
  15. Joelc

    Joelc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Davee:

    Relax...the lip sync is very difficult parameter [i.e. read "time consuming"] item to get spot on...once done though...

    Cheers,
     

Share This Page

Loading...