LINN Owner needs upgrade advice/opinions

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by nbetts, Aug 23, 2006.

1. nbetts

nbetts
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello - I am a newbie so please be gentle with me.:hiya:

I have the following setup, which has given me hours of pleasure for about 5 years or so.

LINN Ikemi CD Player
    LINN Kairn Pre-Amp
    LINN LK140 x 3 with Aktiv Modules
    LINN Pekin Tuner
    LINN Espek Floorstanding Speakers

I have the above components configured in a tri-wired Active setup and I have found it be excellent.

BUT - On Sunday I managed to Toast one of my LK 140 Power AMPS (my fault, being stupid with a move of equipment) so I returned it to the Vendor and they will send it back to LINN where it will be repaired. So all good stuff... Whilst I was in the Hi-Fi Shop I made the mistake about asking about what I could do to my system with regards to upgrades.

Whilst I really Like LINN - and I really would like to keep the use of the Active setup that I have I wondered what else I could use instead of the LK 140's

The Helpful chap in the shop suggested that I opt for the LINN Chakra Power Amps as a like for like replacement of the LK 140's. This means I could retain my Active setup... and I could introduce them one at a time, in order to ease impact on the pocket...

I have checked the LINN website and I reckon I would need 3 x Chakra 2200 plus the Active modules (assuming the ones out of the LK140's don't fit)...

Does anyone have any suggestions as to what (if anything) you would use to replace the LK140's?

Or would you just carry - on using the 'good as new' LK140 when it returns from LINN.

Thanks In advance.

Nigel

2. alexs2

alexs2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    The easiest option is to continue with the repaired module when it comes back from Linn,but there are a few other options.