1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Linksys Wireless Router And X-box Live

Discussion in 'General Video Gaming Chat' started by JUNKYARD DOG, May 20, 2005.

  1. JUNKYARD DOG

    JUNKYARD DOG
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Recently bought a linksys wireless g router and wireless gaming adaptor to use on my x-box because of pc being downstairs and x-box upstairs. I've followed the instructions on how to set it up but i still can't can't get it going. My first stumbling block is setting the router up with the pc so i can go on the internet. Any advice would be helpfull (so would detailed instructions) :)
     
  2. jenic

    jenic
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,871
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +179
    What router is it? If it is the WAG54G them i would advise you to return it because they are very unreliable.
     
  3. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,515
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,313
    Yeah, Junkyard - if you say which router model you have and where you're up to configuring it, I can help maybe - I have a Linksys G router and gaming adapter also.
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    they arent that bad, (WAG54G) if it is a version 2 you are fine i had a buggy V1.1 but touch wood the V2 is very stable and reliable. i know others who use them and mostly they are fine require the odd reboot but what doesnt?
     
  5. Gary D

    Gary D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,770
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +826
    mines lovely :D and works like a dream :D


    Gary
     
  6. UncagedTyphoon

    UncagedTyphoon
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    City Street having it Large Essex
    Ratings:
    +3
    did you ever upgrade the firmware mine work for me
     
  7. Tetlee

    Tetlee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    19,655
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Taunton
    Ratings:
    +4,268
    Sorry to ask an obvious question, but how do you upgrade the firmware? I have my WAG54G in the lounge with my pc connected in the bedroom via wireless card, does the upgrade do anything to help range/connection as my pc connection seems a bit tempremental and tends to drop.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    instructions are on linksys site, if you go to linksys.com there is a live chat help, very useful, for firmware upgrade use wired connection, down load file turn router off take it up stairs and hard wire to PC and run upgrade.
     
  9. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    I have one of these and have never had any problems with it. Its been switched on an running uninterrupted for around a year. However if you are having problems setting it up I would recommend returning and getting a dlan setup, It works out cheaper than the router and gamming adapter, is plug and play so no setup issues and you get much better performance for gamming.

    Personally I didnt find the performance of wireless anywhwhere near acceptable in my house over two floors for Live, it worked but there was lag.
     
  10. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Whats a dlan set-up? I am on the verge of getting an xbox and want to connect it wirelessly to my existing wired network for streaming media files....
     
  11. Ryderage

    Ryderage
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
  12. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Thats the one. If you do a search on the forums there is a thread on the Devolo dlan setup.

    Its a good alternative to wireless for Live and online gamming, much better performance and its cheaper. Just need to make sure the rooms you want to share your connection on are on the same power circuit.
     
  13. lisag

    lisag
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    5,558
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +296
    Well thanks Rikki :smashin:
    In fact with google there is no need for us to help each other out on these forums at all...... ;)

    Anyway it's only 14mbps - no good for streaming media.

    lisa
     
  14. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Its fine for streaming media as long as its not HD ! Also remember that wireless is not great for video for the same reason as gamming. Packet loss = unwatchable :(
     

Share This Page

Loading...