Links not working

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by pantages, Aug 25, 2006.

  1. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63
    When I click on a link it doesn't work. e.g: I was searching through a website which has a link to another but when I click the link nothing happens. This applies to various sites. Can anyone help please?
     
  2. krish

    krish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Astral Crescent, Zoovroozlechester, Betelgeuse V
    Ratings:
    +16,421
    could it be that in those cases a pop-up has to launch, and you have blocked pop-ups for that domain??
    (bottom right thingy to click on and change pop-up blocker settings with Firefox)

    if indeed this applies in general, how are you getting on with AV forums ... i.e. clicking between forum page and threads?
     
  3. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thanks krish72. Moving around the forums is not a problem, it seems to me to be with 'hyper'? links. Example: I was searching FindDVD for a title which was not available as a Region 2, so FindDVD gave me a link to a US site:

    http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/iclk?

    When I click on it I don't get a link. This happens in other similar cirumstances. I tried system restore, (to 15 August), but it has made no difference.
     
  4. krish

    krish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Astral Crescent, Zoovroozlechester, Betelgeuse V
    Ratings:
    +16,421
    www.find-dvd.co.uk/r1/index.htm
    - thats their R1 site

    and say I do a search on Remington Steele Season 3, the results are on this page: www.find-dvd.co.uk/r1/024543232834.htm, and clicking on the "visit shop" links on the right opens a new window (or tab, if right clicking and selecting a tab) which starts off as an affiliate/lead-tracked URL and then resolves into the retailer's proper URL for that item. Have no problems, so the site must be fine.

    Have you tried accessing these inaccessible pages by right-clicking on the link, and then selecting Copy Link Location (Firefox) or Copy Shortcut (IE)... then opening a new browser window or tab and pasting in this copied URL in the address bar and seeing if the page loads?
     
  5. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63
    These suggestions work fine. So here is another example of what I mean:

    Go to Download.com. Click on the left, 'Browsers' then Browsers again. At the top of the page above where it says Web Browsers are three links. If I click on either of those, nothing happens. However if I click on one of the links within Download.com such as Ace Explorer 2, then I am taken straight to the link.

    Incidentally, I use IE6 but have tried Avant, Opera and Firefox. What is your opinion of Firefox, is it really so good and does it link with all secure sites?

    Thanks once more!

    Dave
     
  6. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Sounds like you have an advertising removing software. Because those 3 links above wb browsers are text adverts, and would be removed by any good advertising removing software.
     
  7. krish

    krish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Astral Crescent, Zoovroozlechester, Betelgeuse V
    Ratings:
    +16,421
    okay, so those googlesyndication.com lead tracking links work fine and resolve to proper URL with both IE and Firefox

    I prefer firefox, as I find it more stable (less prone to shutting down), faster, functional and ergonomic - if I can use that word to describe software. However I would prefer it if it also had a reassuring "click" sound as you get with IE (and Windows explorer in general).

    Works well with all the secure sites - SSL connections / https

    Is this problem with IE only?
    I have IE7 RC1 installed (just released yesterday, no problems installing, still a clumsy browser compared to Firefox) - www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/downloads - perhaps that may correct the IE issue???
    BTW, I'm not an IT person, so my advice is only anecdotal ;)
     
  8. krish

    krish
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    35,677
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Astral Crescent, Zoovroozlechester, Betelgeuse V
    Ratings:
    +16,421
    do they also remove adverts for good advertising removing software :D
     
  9. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63

    Ah! Yes, I do, and that makes sense, thank you very much! I'll try disabling it to prove the point.
     
  10. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63
    Yes, only with IE. But what Singh has suggested makes sense so I will double check. I have tried IE7 beta 2 asnd I like it. Now though I will give Firefox and proper go. Thanks again krish72, if none of the above solves my problem I will let you know here. Fingers crossed.
     
  11. pantages

    pantages
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    972
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Boston
    Ratings:
    +63
    Everything works fine with IE7.
     
  12. Singh400

    Singh400
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,850
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +3,370
    Stop it, you'll confuse me! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice