Linking to home network

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii-U & 3DS' started by Strator, Apr 18, 2007.

  1. Strator

    Strator
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finaly got my chance to set up our new toy last night, all fine untill I got to putting the WEP/SSED (running hidden) settings into the little white box, it was having none of it :confused: finaly looked into making the router visible to the world before locking it down again when I noticed that my crib sheet had the word "netgear" written on it, and I got rid of that thing a couple of years ago ... doh! moment :blush: ... with correct crib sheet (and codes) all installed in minutes :thumbsup:

    Strator:hiya:
     
  2. Kaptain_klumpy

    Kaptain_klumpy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, connected easily to my netgear wireless router.
    Unlike my 360 which can be a pain in the [email protected] sometimes.
     
  3. misterjingo

    misterjingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I haven't got my wii yet, but i'm curious about network connectivity. Is it like the DS in that it only supports WEP? I have my home network protected with WPA.
     
  4. garthus

    garthus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +14
    You are in luck, the Wii supports WPA (and is working quite nicely at mine with it - in fact i found it easier than some pc's i have setup.

    HTH,

    Gareth
     
  5. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    The security settings you can choose from are as follows:
    WEP
    WEP-PSK (TKIP)
    WPA-PSK (AES)
    WPA2-PSK (AES)
     
  6. misterjingo

    misterjingo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Good to hear :). I'm having to run the DS off a USB wifi Dongle atm.
     
  7. Mark Botwright

    Mark Botwright
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    8,206
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    I only finally set mine up last night. Being a bit new to wireless networks i gave up when i first unpacked my Wii. I only realised how simple it was by searching these forums.:thumbsup:
     
  8. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I'm currently installing a Wii for a friend. It refuses to find the wireless network despite the fact that the router is within spitting distance.

    I refuse to believe the wireless range is that limited. The router is a D-Link DI524.

    Any ideas?
     
  9. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I'm using MAC filtering, so I manually added the Wii MAC address to the router and it now connects fine.
     
  10. andytabor

    andytabor
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,446
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +35
    for some reason my wii would not find my wireless network when i first got it, i tried numerous times and got pretty exasperated, i was talking to my neighbour about it and he kindly allowed me to give it a try on his wireless network and it worked and updated itself.

    after the update it now connects fine to my wireless network.

    so if anyone else is having connection problems if you can somehow get the latest update on it (2.2e i think) then that may solve wireless network issues.
     
  11. Setenza

    Setenza
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +226
    I added the Wii manaually to the router and successfully connected and updated the software/firmware.
     

Share This Page

Loading...