Link Preview on Facebook

7ewis

Novice Member
For some reason whenever I post a link to my website to Facebook the link preview it gives shows my Google+ profile picture.. I would rather it didn't do this for obvious reasons lol, even if the post has a picture it still shows the G+ profile picture, and the blog does have a favicon too.. why is it doing this lol?

How can I stop it?

This is the facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/NewsOfThePhoenix?sk=wall

You can see the top 2 posts are examples of this..

Iccz

You should use an image on your site with the following:

Code:
<link rel="image_src" href="http://domain.com/logo.jpg" />

That should do the trick, failing that you need to look in to 'Open Graph Tags'.

7ewis

Novice Member
ah ok, where abouts would that go? Because it is hosted on Blogger, and is a .blogspot.com blog, I can't edit that much. Would it be near the meta tags?

Sorry I'm a bit of a noob to coding :p

Iccz

Personally I would make up a larger version of your favicon (if you don't have one already) and put that in with the header of your page (before or after the big header text), either that or put it in the 2nd column on your blog - like the twitter bit is, and have a little info about the site in there with it.

7ewis

Novice Member
Hmm yeah, the thing is, is that the favicon is just a smaller version of the background. Do you think I should change the background to something plain? Not sure I really like the favicon either, probably should get someone to make me a better one or find a royalty free icon :p

AVF Jay

Banned
For some reason whenever I post a link to my website to Facebook the link preview it gives shows my Google+ profile picture.. I would rather it didn't do this for obvious reasons lol, even if the post has a picture it still shows the G+ profile picture, and the blog does have a favicon too.. why is it doing this lol?

How can I stop it?

This is the facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/NewsOfThePhoenix?sk=wall