1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limit 900SE vs SD340 / 575

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Stuart.Ainslie, Apr 14, 2005.

1. Stuart.Ainslie

Stuart.Ainslie
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was looking at getting either a Pio 575 or Tosh 340e but have seen good things posted about the Limit players.

How would the DVD quality of the Limit compare against the other two when being fed via component into a Pana PW7 panel ?

Not concerned with DivX etc - Mainly DVD and a small amount of audio..

Thanks...

2. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +216
    I have no direct experience of the Pioneer 575 or Toshiba 340. However I can make a comparision between the earlier Toshiba 330 and my Limit and the Limit absolutely massacres the 330. My Limit copes far better with a wide range of formats and media, has far superior audio quality (more detailed), has a much cleaner image with vibrant colours and no artifacts (not saying its got more picture detail though). Copes far better with low bit rate dvds (my 330 was hopeless in this regard). I'm using a AE100 projector (858x484 resolution). From what I've read the 340 is similar to the 330 at least for the dvd drive which is generally not great.

The thing about the Limit is your buying a dvd player that is now an older model based on older electronics. However the electronics in question are the highly regarded zoran vaddis 5 chipset as used by many Arcams. The Limit has undergone a a second manufacturing/tuning process where the psu circuit has been improved as well as other modfications and adjustments. The end result is a mid range model that is now a year or so old that has undergone electronic improvements designed by Cyrus. It is not a feature packed player by current model standards.