Lightroom 4 Beta

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by DanL, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. DanL

    DanL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +14
  2. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    Im loving it already. I think while it does make LR more bloated i cant see me needing PSCS5 at all now.
     
  3. DolbyDan

    DolbyDan
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2006
    Messages:
    2,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Canvey Island
    Ratings:
    +265
    Cheers downloading
     
  4. Calzor Suzay

    Calzor Suzay
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +199
    Can you run it alongside 3.6?
     
  5. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    I just tried a few video files and i think this is fantastic new feature. Im sure it will get better but considering this is the first time Adobe have implemented video editing in LR its working well.

    Yes, you can run this along side 3.6
     
  6. BubbleDouble

    BubbleDouble
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,227
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Space
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    Blurb! :(
     
  7. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    Yeah, shame about that. I hopefully clicked on the drop down list of companies and was disappointed to see it empty.
     
  8. Pete Delaney

    Pete Delaney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3,212
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lincolnshire
    Ratings:
    +655
    Downloading from Adobe Labs....:thumbsup:
     
  9. mucca_D

    mucca_D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +522
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2012
  10. Chubster

    Chubster
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Haslemere
    Ratings:
    +149
    I am liking it very muchly so far.......
     
  11. tapzilla2k

    tapzilla2k
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,187
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +2,587
    It's running alongside 3.6 on my computer (windows 7 ultimate x64).

    Blurb appears in the Book module with an export to Blurb or PDF options.
     
  12. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    Yep, already commented on that. my statement was that there were no OTHER companies.
     
  13. BubbleDouble

    BubbleDouble
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    4,227
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Space
    Ratings:
    +1,883
    Which is a widely discussed topic on the Adobe LR4 Beta forum.
     
  14. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    Yep, seen the all the threads.

    After having it for a day now i really like it but it runs very, very slow on my home PC. I realise its early code and the 2012 process probably needs more power but im finding i can really only use it at work on my new PC.
    Both Pc's have 3.6 and both run that fine so im hoping for a speed improvement in the final release.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  15. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +24,840
    Yes - very slow and as I'm not too bothered by the video side of it I'm distinctly underwhelmed TBH
     
  16. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    I love the video side. Ok, its not Sony Vegas etc but its good for basic trimming and colour correcting, or going for a completely look. Ive just been watching the Adobe tutorial showing how to use a lot of the develop module for video. Very clever stuff. I also like how quick it seems to re render the files down to a more web friendly bit rate.
    I guess it depends on how much video you shoot but as i tend to load everything from my SD card on to my PC in to the same folders as my raw images its nice i can at least do something with the video without having to open another program.

    Although the upgraded basic tools are nice l love how you can apply separate WB tones to different areas, no more blue windows :smashin:
     
  17. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +24,840
    Might give it a go and load up an old movie and try some colour correction and noise removal I suppose....

    Jim
     
  18. dave_bass5

    dave_bass5
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    6,719
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London, centre of the universe
    Ratings:
    +628
    when you do remember you can use the pre sets as well as the adjustments. This can give you some pretty nice looking footage very quickly.
    The way Adobe shows it, if you use the grab frame feature you can then edit that frame in the develop module, save the setting as a pre set and then apply it to the video. Not all adjustments work this way but it certainly seems to expand what you can do with video.

    Im also impressed with the soft proofing option. Its not something ive ever missed before but it does seem to help making sure your colours dont change once you export the images, even if its just for web or screen use.
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  19. sneeks

    sneeks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    4,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +623
    I downloaded this last night, will install onto my Mac tonight.
     
  20. shotokan101

    shotokan101
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    74,590
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +24,840
    Thanks Dave - I used to use mostly Corel Video Studio when I was doing some home movies editing but this could be useful for some polishing
     
  21. tapzilla2k

    tapzilla2k
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,187
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford
    Ratings:
    +2,587
    I was caught up in the excitement of having some new Lightroom software to play with. I'm guessing Adobe will trundle out "It's a beta" excuse for not having any other companies included for the time being.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice