1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

light control with pronto...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Control & Remote Controls' started by snuffy1, Jan 4, 2003.

  1. snuffy1

    snuffy1
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just ordered the philips pronto... off letsautomate.co.uk and want to know if any of you have IR conrolled light switches. I want something half decent but under £50... any recommendations would be grateful...

    thanks all....
     
  2. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    B&Q/Homebase usually do a single-way IR switch - not sure how much though but quite cheap,

    also letsautomate.com do this one for £22.15 (they have the pronto codes to download):
    http://www.letsautomate.com/10163.cfm?CFID=39615&CFTOKEN=14609451

    They also do these which are a lot more expensive. This is what I have as I needed to control a 2-way light (controlled by 2 switches) and this is the only IR solution I found to do it:
    http://www.letsautomate.com/10450.cfm?CFID=39615&CFTOKEN=14609451
     
  3. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    I got mine from www.tlc-direct.com for about £12 delivered. Just programme the dimmer with any spare button on your remote.

    Mark.
     
  4. Tomfoolery

    Tomfoolery
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know of any that work with low voltage halogen lights?
     
  5. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    The remote dimmers from the link above work with low voltage lighting

    Mark.
     
  6. Tomfoolery

    Tomfoolery
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Great, thanks.
     
  7. muscat

    muscat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Radnage
    Ratings:
    +0
    An alternative is to use X10 switches, also available from Lets Automate. This allows you to control lights anywhere from a single location and line of site is only required to a single box which sends the X10 signal through the mains.
     
  8. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    Mark, can you confirm that the dimmer switch will work with wire-wound transformer type halogens?

    The X10 one doesn't - it gives a loud buzzing noise, even when switched off.

    I'm still planning to X10 other stuff, but want to get the main lounge light sorted too.
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,271
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,015
    oh, and how do you use a 'spare' button on a pronto? Is there a dummy code you can use? I only ever learn other remotes or download ccfs...
     
  10. codlord

    codlord
    Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    Ratings:
    +1
  11. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,107
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,380
    Direct quote from the instructions:-

    Can be used for GU10 or similar HiSpot mains halogen bulbs (dimmer raiting must be double the max load of the lights)
    Not suitable for non-toroidal wire-wound transformers.

    I suggest you borrow a friends remote, learn a button and then programme the dimmer with that.

    Hope these help

    Mark.
     

Share This Page

Loading...