Lidl satellite sytem any good ?

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by bwizz, Aug 12, 2004.

  1. bwizz

    bwizz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I see on visiting a local lidl's, they have a satellite sysyem . Any body any experience of it.
    Alternatively
    If I bought a second hand sky digi box ,would I still need a veiwing card?
    /phone connection Thanks Brian
     
  2. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bradford, West Yorkshire.
    Ratings:
    +324
  3. JohnC

    JohnC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central England
    Ratings:
    +4
    I just bought a Grundig 200 digi box off eBay for £17.00 as a second box for Sky....

    The Pre-programmed 4,000 channel Lidl Digi box £49.99.... 80cm dish £14.99.... Dish Bracket £2.99..... 6db Lnb £3.99,.... and even a Sat Finder for £3.99 just has to be one of theee best deals around......
    see http://www.lidl.co.uk/gb/index.nsf/pages/c.o.oow.20040819.index

    Im looking for something cheap in the way of a digi box to replace my aging analogue Echostar SR 8700 receiver and was wondering if any one knows what this digi box is a clone of, or know what sort of picture and sound quality it has??
    Regards John
     
  4. JohnC

    JohnC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2003
    Messages:
    164
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central England
    Ratings:
    +4
    My local three stores sold out as they opened the doors to the waiting quei
     
  5. ratty369

    ratty369
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know if you can change the sattilite dish on this system for something a bit smaller, like a sky digital dish.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    yes but reception will be more limited!
     
  7. ratty369

    ratty369
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers for that, do you know how i can get the ITV channels from this system??
     
  8. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,258
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +753
    You won't get the ITV channels because they are scrambled with the videoguard system i.e. they are not Free To Air (FTA).
    Only a $ky digibox + card will get ITV and Channel 4.
    The Lidl box is an FTA only receiver.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     

Share This Page

Loading...