1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Li On PDI card (?)

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ilkand, Jul 9, 2003.

1. ilkand

ilkand

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Anybody else get a pdi capture card from Li On? Got mine this morning, and not all that impressed really. Must be doing something wrong. What does everybody else think? Got any Dscaler tips to make it better, especially re: noise.

Thanks
    Andy

2. Mr.D

Mr.D

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,149
    Really noise? I'd have thought thats the least of the problems with an all digital pipeline. You sure its not your video and overlay settings for Dscaler? Have you calibrated yet?

3. ilkand

ilkand

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes, it could be that the calibration is wrong, I am not very good at such things. Am using suggested settings from Li On.
    Perhaps noise is not the right word, On large areas in long distant shots, such as in Lord of the Rings when they leave Rivendell and head off into the mountains, there are moving pixels on certain areas so that the whole of it seems to shimmer and move a bit (mosquito noise?). I get this on software players but was hoping to reduce it with this set up.
    The picture is definitely better, but not yet that much better. Law of diminishing returns perhaps.

4. MikeTV

MikeTV

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +844
    If you are using Dscaler check out the auto-calibration feature - it really is a breeze, and the results are excellent. You need to get hold of a DVD with the right test patterns - colour bars and grey scale. But it may not make much difference for noise.

5. JohnS

JohnS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ikland,

I take it you have set:-

Judder Terminator on
    Auto Film/Video detect