LG Spd7y owners thread

Cartmen

Hello

After thinking for a long time about buying a soundbar, I decided to pull the trigger and bought an spd7y soundbar.
I had an old 5.1 surround system and I was afraid that the soundbar would be inferior for not having the rear speakers. I was completely wrong. The soundbar is incredible. I have tested it with Disney+ and Netflix content and even with 5.1 movies like tomorrowland and avatar, the Atmos simulation is incredible.
I'm not a professional but I can really hear objects arround me in the living room when I'm seeing movies or series. I can totally recomend this soundbar to anyone that wants to take his home theater experience to another level.
I know that an Atmos receiver with speakers will be better but it will also cost at least 4 or 5 times more than this soundbar.

After the incredible experience I'm having, I'm very curious about the difference of getting some rear speakers and how much more it could improve the experience. I saw that the compatible ones are the spk8, but I was reading and saw that they have been already already more than 2 years ago. Do you think that LG will upgrade this speakers any time soon? Will a new model be released this year? How much better would the experience be?

I hope this thread will help some indicisive buyers and thanks in advance to anyone that what's to share their opinions about my questions.

steveho

Thanks for the positive review ,I think I’m gettig the new LG sp9

I had a demo in Curry’s of last years model LG SL9YG and it was astonishing as a stand-alone unit

The spk8 surrounds are small in stature and apparently can sound a bit “tinny” from what I’ve been reading however , I did notice that the surrounds that come with sg11 / sp11 are a different beast altogether (larger and more substantial) and I believe have the upfiring speaker inside