Question LG - slow wifi

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by dogdiego, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just purchased a 55UJ635V yesterday. All setup fine, no issues.

    Last night tried playing some 4k content via YouTube and Netflix and it just couldn't get going really - thought it was odd, and initially was worried that my 40mb connection wouldn't be enough. Anyway, went to fast.com via the browser and found that I was only getting 0.5mb connection speed, whereas my phone in the same room was getting roughly 35mb. I'm connecting to a Vodafone 5ghz router.

    I disconnected from the wifi, and reconnected via WPS and it all worked again. Netflix and YouTube were loading content almost instantly - great!

    That lasted for about 20 minutes and then back we went to a crawl of 0.5mb. I have my Sky Box behind the TV and the TV before that and it's never struggled for signal so I don't think it's that, the router lives just 5-6ft away. I don't want to invest in homeplugs for a 1 day old TV, especially when it's proved that it can connect at 35mb and deliver 4k content via wifi.

    Any help or suggestions appreciated.
     
  2. dts

    dts
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    2,160
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    146
    Location:
    Mansfield,Notts
    Ratings:
    +2,000
    I know you said that you don't want to use homeplugs, but I had the same problem with my 49UH850v lg tv by using WiFi. I have virgin media's 200meg gamer package and I struggled with watching uhd/4k content. So I brought a pair of 1200 meg Tp-link homeplugs and have never looked back... What happens is that you will get half the speeds via WiFi and drop outs on your connection, I know it's not ideal for everyone but a wired connection will always give you the fastest and reliable connection.

    Sent from my F8331 using AVForums mobile app
     
  3. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,304
    Anybody else streaming at same time whilst you are watching?
     
  4. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Nope, nothing else going on, on the network. I sat in front of the TV on my phone and used the fast app - got 35mbps. Then straight after, used fast.com on the browser and got 600kbps.

    If this was a constant, I'd just arrange collection and consider it a lemon but given it has connected at near full speed and streamed content, has just got me confused.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +998
    There was a suggested "fix" for this problem on the LG OLED thread, I don't know if your TV has the same settings in the menu, but worth a try if it has.......

    Under general settings,
    1) Turn "Quick Start" off
    2) Mobile TV ON - set "Turn on via Wi-Fi" to off
     
  6. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,304
    Ok, I haven't seen Vodafone's router incarnation, are you definitely connected to the 5GHz with the TV.

    Since its only 5 - 6 feet away could you temporarily connect with a wired cable to see if the problem persists ?
     
  7. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Is there a way to determine what devices are connected to 2.4ghz and 5ghz or is it going to be easier to split them and manually do it?

    I'm not at home currently so hard wiring will have to wait until tonight, unfortunately.
     
  8. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    I have seen those settings in my menus so will definitely give that a try.
     
  9. ChuckMountain

    ChuckMountain
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6,398
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,304
    Hopefully John's settings will cure it as it could just be a firmware bug.

    Not sure on the Vodafone setup as haven't seen it first hand, some have a different SSID for the 2.4 vs 5. Some have combined but the router might tell you.
     
  10. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks a lot for your help guys, I'll report back.
     
  11. dogdiego

    dogdiego
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2009
    Messages:
    125
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just to update. I split my wifi into 5ghz and 2.4ghz. When connected to the 5ghz, the problem was reoccurring. When connected to the 2.4ghz however, problem alleviated. The speeds are identical.

    This makes me think its an issue with the router, rather than the TV. What it is though, I've no idea.
     
  12. Steves1982

    Steves1982
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2017
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Torbay
    Ratings:
    +48
    Did the problem stay fixed?

    I'm on Vodafone broadband and it was fine for the first few days of having the TV. Now I've not been able to watch Netflix properly for 2 nights.
     

Share This Page

Loading...