Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

LG RH7500 opinions

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Steve Church, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. Steve Church

    Steve Church
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone any experience of this machine, especially with respect to its picture quality and editing capability? I want to transfer and edit my digital camcorder tapes.

    Are there any online reviews I can look at?
     
  2. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    I am also interested in the LG as I am currently comparing it to the Panny dmreh50.

    To be honest , after some searching I cant find many reviews on the LG. I can tell you however that it is Divix compatable which the panny is not.

    I have stayed away from LG in the past, but this particular player/recorder is looking pretty good to me at the moment. :)
     
  3. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    Ok, found some coments on the LG.



    and



    so there you go. Its a toos up for me between the panny and this LG. The Lg just edges ahead with Divix and being cheaper. I have also heard that the apnny does not record 16.9 images.
    However the LG does not seem to record in RGB, which I find very strange :confused:
     
  4. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    and full specs from LGs web site.


    Broadcasting - Video PAL I,B/G,I/I SECAM D/K,K1

    Broadcasting - Audio NICAM

    Tuner

    Channel Add/Delete Yes

    Channel Auto Search Yes

    Channel Memory 88

    Channel Range VHF E 02~12

    Channel Range UHF E 21~69

    Channel Range CATV S 01~20

    Channel Range Hyper Band S 21~41

    PDC (ACSS/ACMS/ACMS Plus) PDC & ACMS

    Video Plus Yes

    VPS/ PDC/ ACSS/ ACMS Plus Yes

    CH. Add/ Erase/ Auto Search Yes

    Video DAC 54Mhz/10bit

    Audio DAC 96KHz/24bit

    GUI

    Graphic User Interface Yes

    Languages Eng/Ger/Spa/Ita/Por/Gre

    Initial Language English

    Recordable Media

    DVD-R Yes

    DVD-RW Yes

    DVD+R Yes

    DVD+RW Yes

    HDD 80GB

    DVD+R (Double) Yes

    Recording Mode

    DVD±R/RW Single Layer - HQ 1Hr

    DVD±R/RW Single Layer - SQ 2Hr

    DVD±R/RW Single Layer - LQ 4Hr

    DVD±R/RW Single Layer - EQ 6Hr

    DVD±R/RW Single Layer - Auto In case of timer recording

    DVD+R Double Layer - HQ 1.8Hr

    DVD+R Double Layer SQ 3.6Hr

    DVD+R Double Layer - LQ 7.3Hr

    DVD+R Double Layer - EQ 11Hr

    DVD+R Double Layer - Auto In case of timer recording

    HDD - HQ 20Hr

    HDD - SQ 40Hr

    HDD - LQ 80Hr

    HDD - EQ 110Hr

    File Management & Editing

    Menu Display Thumbnail (Title/Chapter) Yes

    Title Delete Yes

    Chapter Delete Yes

    Move Chapter Yes

    Menu Display Thumbnail Preview Yes

    A-B Partial Delete Yes

    Combine Chapter Yes

    Auto Chapter Making Yes

    Hide/show chapter Yes

    Manual Chapter Making Yes

    Title Divide Yes

    Protect Title Yes

    Editing Title Name English

    Disc Protection (On/Off) Yes

    PlayList Delete / PlayList Combine Yes

    sort Yes

    Recording Convenience - HDD

    HDD Time Shift Yes

    HDD Simultaneous Recording and Play Yes

    HDD Clip Recording Yes

    HDD Max recording hours 48hrs

    High Speed Dubbing between DVD & HDD Max x24

    Optimised copy from HDD to DVD Yes

    Back-up Time 3 sec

    Number of Timer recording programs per month 16PGM/1M

    Recording Convenience - DVD

    Safe Recording Yes

    Overwrite Recording Yes

    One Touch Recording / Bi-lingual Recording Yes

    Finalize Yes

    Unfinalize Yes

    Dubbling

    JPEG from CD/ DVD to HDD Yes

    JPEG from HDD to DVD Yes

    MP3/ WMA/ DivX from DVD to HDD Yes

    MPEG2 from DVD to HDD Yes

    MPEG2 from HDD to DVD Yes

    DVD from DVD to HDD (Max X24 High-speed) Yes

    DVD from HDD to DVD (Max X24 High-speed) Yes

    Playback format

    DVD video PAL & NTSC

    DVD ± R/RW Yes (-R/RW in video mode)

    VCD/SVCD Yes

    CD-R/RW Yes

    MP3 Yes

    ID 3 Yes

    JPEG Yes

    WMA Yes

    DviX Yes

    DVD +R (Double) Yes

    DVD-RW (VR Mode) Yes

    DivX Yes

    Xvid Yes

    DivX/ Xvid File Format avi

    DivX/ Xvid Subtitle Format smi,srt,sub

    DivX/ Xvid Subtiles Language 35 Languages including English, Scottish & Irish

    Photo with MP3/WMA Music Yes

    Playble Convenience

    Play List Delete Yes

    Play List Combine Yes

    Zoom Yes

    Marker (Thumbnail) Yes

    Marker Search Yes

    Last Condition Memory Yes

    PIP Yes

    CM Skip Yes

    Photo Album/ Audio Juke Box Yes

    Repeat Play Mode Yes

    Random Play(track) Yes

    Program play(track) Yes

    Auto Dimmer Yes

    Front Panel

    Front AV input Yes

    S-Video Input Yes

    DV Input Yes

    Rear Panel

    Analogue Audio Out Yes

    Digital Audio Out Yes

    Scart 1 Yes

    Scart 2 Yes

    Composite Video Out Yes

    Component RCA type (Y/Pb/Pr) Video out Yes

    Scart RGB/ RCA Component S/W Video out Yes

    Terrestrial RF In & Out Yes

    Accessory

    Remote Controller Type Unified

    Remote Controller Battery (Size "AAA") Yes

    A/V RCA Cable/ Scart cable / RF Cable Yes

    Power

    Wide SMPS 200~240V,60Hz

    Dimension

    Set (WXHXD) 430x348x49(mm)

    Box (WXHXD) 513x455x145(mm)

    Weight

    Net/ Gross 4.5/ 5.5(kg)
     
  5. Steve Church

    Steve Church
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I found those as well. I also found several reviews on what looks like a Dutch site. Unfortunately in Dutch.
     
  6. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    :rotfl: :rotfl:


    :rotfl: :rotfl:
     
  7. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    Steve.


    What made you think about getting the LG in first place.?
    Was it just price or the spec as well?

    Have you had any LG stuff before?
     
  8. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    well, I think i have decided on the LG. going to go to richer sounds later to day and have a look :)
     
  9. Ipmack

    Ipmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its a good machine, and I don't have any real problems with it (having returnmed a panny DRM 85 in the past 'cos it was too .... well "clunky" and not user friendly enough)

    I've had 2 to date, returned the first 'cos of vertical lines on the left of the screen on RGB. These disappear if you use component (there's a switch on the back), regardless of whether you are using Scart or other leads. By the way, the 2nd machine has the same problems so I guess that this is part and parcel of the kit.

    Richer sounds are (or were) quite expensive for this believe it or not. It's actually cheaper in Comet so if you do decide to get one, then just ask them to price match. They will BS you and say that their machine is multiregion, but it isn't out of the box. You have to use a hack which they have thoughtfully printed on the side of the box (and which is easy to get online) something like open tray and press 0 seven times (haven't done it)

    let us know what you decide.
     
  10. jeromeof

    jeromeof
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    44
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was also thinking about this machine, I read that it is very easily to upgrade the hard disk to 250GB etc. and it plays DivX. Couple of questions:
    1. Can you edit recording on the HDD
    2. Is it possible to fastforward through Divx movies (I read somewhere it wasn't).
    3. Does it have an RF Modulator, i.e As well as Scart Out does it add a channel to the TV Signal, like a VCR would. I need to know this as I plan to send the output of this device to another TV (in my kitchen) via cable.
    4. How well does the scheduler work.
    5. What is the quality of the output. Does it look the same as the TV (or is is "washed" out colour wise.

    Thanks

    Jerome
     
  11. Ipmack

    Ipmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    1. You can edit the recordings on the HDD ( and also DVD until they have been finalised). This is obviously useful for trimming out the ads etc. pretty easy to use too.

    2. You cannot fast-forward using the scan buttons through DIVX. this is a real pain, however, it is possible to jump to a specific time within the file. I haven't tried this after copying the file from a divxDVD to the HDD.

    3. It has an RF loop through, but I don't know whether it does RF out.

    4. The scheduler (timer) is easy to use. Obviously an EPG would be much better, but its as easy to program as any video recorder I've used previously. Also does videoplus if anyone is interested. Can be set to repeat daily / weekly / monthly. The only pain is having to have the machine in standby before it will work. However, it does flash warnings up 10 and 5 minutes before it is due to record something to let you know.

    5. Absolutely no problems with this one. Colours remain vibrant after recording from sky irrespective of quality setting on the recorder. Divx / Xvid files are great. DVD films very good. On the whole very happy with this recorder. Now if only I had my plasma back rather than this poxy CRT...
     
  12. Steve Church

    Steve Church
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ipmack,
    Thanks for posting your comments. Can you confirm that the LG machine does not record from RGB (as one review said). I want to connect it to my Freeview box. I have downloaded the manual but can find no reference to it
     
  13. Ipmack

    Ipmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not entirely sure how to prove or disprove this.

    Certainly my Sky box is set up to RGB out, and connected to the LG via scart. Recordings work fine with a good PQ. Seems as though recording from RGB works.

    Is there any other way of connecting via RGB??
     
  14. Steve Church

    Steve Church
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Ipmack,
    Thanks for posting your comments. Can you confirm that the LG machine does not record from RGB (as one review said). I want to connect it to my Freeview box. I have downloaded the manual but can find no reference to it
     
  15. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279

    The LG will record an RGB signal, but when you play it back it is in composite. It still however, in my opinon, has a better pic than VHS. The LG will out put an rgb signal or component signal when playing back a standard pre recorded DVD movie.
     
  16. Steve Church

    Steve Church
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive just spoken to LG customer support who say that the machine will record and playback in RGB (they looked at the manual). However I can find no reference in the Spec section of the manual (download from LG), but there is a switch on the rear to switch the output from composite (phonos) to RGB (scart) which is documented, so from this I deduce that it will o/p RGB. Still not sure about the RGB input though. Connecting up only the RGB lines in a scart cable would be one way of finding out I suppose.
     
  17. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279
    Have been using the LG since yesterday.
    It will out put RGB from a pre recorded DVD such as starwars.

    It will not record RGB. I know this from recording CSI Miami on channel five last night from my sky digi box.
    It will also not loop through an RGB signal. It says it is RGB but it is clearly not, just standard composite.

    However, this is a minor niggle for such a universal player.

    Considering how many formats it will play back, and the quality of the recording on the hard drive in HQ and SQ modes, I am still happy with the recorder.
    The quality even in composite , of the recording is so much beyond VHS its really quite amazing.
    I have a Pioneer 757ai for playing back of DVDs via component anyway, so again the RGB issue is not that a big a deal, considering what you are getting for the money. Divx playback is good as well, (the lack of it is what put me off the pannasonic)
     
  18. marty2005

    marty2005
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    3,699
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth
    Ratings:
    +155
    Filenames must be in dos 8.3 character format which is a bit backward.
    Did that in windows 3.11. Why haven't they moved on like windows did years ago.

    The 3 is the file extention (mp3, jpg)

    That put me off buying since all my mp3 and jpg filenames are larger than 8 characters.

    You can show id-tags but only one at a time. That doesn't help when you have a large list of mp3 files.
     
  19. GalacticaActual

    GalacticaActual
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,866
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Galactica C.I.C.
    Ratings:
    +279


    Dont wish to sound dumb, but that is well over my head :D
    whats that mean in laymans terms? :D :)
     
  20. Ipmack

    Ipmack
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This doesn't seem to be the case.
    It seems to display the long filenames just as well as most windows computers, and in a font which is really easy to read on screen. it seems that as long as the last 3 (the .jpg / .mp3 / .avi) are present the it doesn't matter what the preceding filename is, even if it is blahblah.hdtv.lol.[eztv].avi for example....allegedly
     
  21. addicksfan

    addicksfan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've just bought LG RH 7500 and have a couple of problems I posted yesterday. Having just read through this thread confirmed my knowledge is very limited so can someone explain what is RGB.
    Thanks
     
  22. theblackbag

    theblackbag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    A connection can be Composite or RGB, with composite the picture is transfered complete, with RGB it is split into the Reg Green and Blue elements and each transferred separatly.

    Composite > Good
    RGB > Better

    My reading indicates that the 7500 outputs RGB, but inputs composite. I did read somewhere that if the machine is in standby the passthrough is RGB but this has been contrdicted in this thread.

    I was seriously considering the 7500 but instead plumped for the Pioneer 433 HS , it does not do DIVX, but for me this was a bonus rather than a must have. It costs about £20 more but the features made the price hike worthwhile for me. I will be pluging it in tonight.
     
  23. mrparis

    mrparis
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well I took the plunge and ordered an LG 7500 last week from Currys. They where offering it at an average Price £249.00 but I thought the idea of buying locally outweighed the slightly cheaper price on the net.

    On the whole I was really happy with it, I liked the user interface, easy to use and nicely laid out. The ability to play Divx and mpeg4 was pretty cool, apart from not being able to fast forward though the movie, but I could live with that. By far the best feature was the editing (for removing ads) and again was very easy to use and worked really well.

    However after 6 days use, my harddrive died in the machine, so all I ever got when attempting to power on was a “Please Wait” message in the LCD display. Took it back to Currys (thank god I purchased locally) and confirmed the drive was dead and offered replacement or refund. Very disappointed, I know there can be an odd lemon or 2 but I opted for the refund and now considering purchasing either a Panasonic or the Pioneer.

    Overall, I was happy with the machine, but here are a few Cons I found with the machine:
    1. The cooling fan – After a while it become a whining, wiring noise, which never shuts up. Could be why the machine died. Has anyone else experience problems with the cooling fan?.
    2. The size of the unit. It is huge compared to some HDD/DVD writers on the market
    3. The remote – Small matter, but why hide some of the buttons behind a drop down panel which can nearly result in a form of hari kari. Bad design.

    Hope my experience/review helps.
     
  24. timmy2

    timmy2
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I cant believe that having a DVD recorder with no RGB in is acceptable at all. Mine is going back to the shop ASAP.:thumbsdow :thumbsdow
     
  25. brado

    brado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it possible to permanently connect a Sky STB and Freeview (twin scart)STB via their scart connectors, at the same time, so that I can watch one while recording another?
     
  26. rhumber

    rhumber
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    73
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Nr Bedford, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    You only have 2 scart connections on your RH7500 so you would need to connect the AV1 on DVD Rec to TV AV1 and the Sky STB AV1 to DVD Rec AV2, then you could connect your Freeview box AV1 to your Sky Box AV2 and see if that works ?

    I have my VCR connected to Sky Box AV2 via Scart, then Sky AV1 to AV2 on DVD Recorder then connected to AV1 on DVD Recorder to TV AV1, works fine with the bypass on my Panny EH50.

    Failing that you could do the above but instead of putting scart from Freeview AV1 to Sky STB AV2 you can put it directly to your TV AV2, but then you wouldn't be able to record anything off freeview which I don't think would be a problem for you as you have all the channels on the Sky STB anyway?

    Hope that all makes sense? :confused:
     
  27. brado

    brado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Rhumber,
    I haven't bought the DVD recorder yet, Or the Freeview STB. I am checking on all the 'ins and outs' first. I will keep your notes.
     
  28. brado

    brado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do you know if it will play back RGB from a DVD recording made using iLink, e.g. a camcorder?
    Has anyone used the LG playback on say a 42" plama or a large LCD screen?
    I am sure there would be a considerable difference between composite and RGB.

    I have a gadget, purchased years ago at a cost of £70, which converted the composite output to RGB. It made a difference, but only if I was close to a 33" screen. Problem being, it's just adding another bundle of spaghetti wireing.
     
  29. brado

    brado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2004
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Worcester UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    More ramblings.
    Can't record AVI files?
    Spotted on other forums:-

    Posted: Thu Dec 08, 2005 2:05 pm Post subject:

    I have the same problem with my LG RH7900 recorder. I called LG Helpline in Holland. They say it is not possible. It really s#cks because my hard drive is filled with divx movies which I cannot copy now. The (Dutch) manual is also not very clear about it. It states that you can select the media when you want to copy files, in practice regretfully you can only select the HDD media, so i guess that the manual is theoretically right. They might have mentioned however that it is not possible to select the dvd media. It's a great recorder, but I wished I had known this beforehand. If someone else did succeed in doing this hdd to dvd copy, I also would be very grateful to know how.

    For those of you interested if you want to make the LG7500 region free just open the disc tray and type 0 - 6/7 times and congratulations you are now region free will appear on screen.


    Any comments on above?
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice