1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG PX11 @1080i?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by bigval, Apr 1, 2005.

  1. bigval

    bigval
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    How and where do I find this setting on this panel?
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    what do you mean? to watch 1080i? ie from modded Xbox or Euro1080tv?
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Bit of a double post, let the other one die perhaps. It's a S97 Panasonic (oops) DVD player. So what happens when you set this res on the player Bigval? Is it just a blank screen? Personally I think I'd stick with 576p. Really the thing is not adding any information, it's only sending what's on the disc. Even with Harry potter, it can't magically 'make the picture high definition'. To get a serious improvement by doing this you need a much better scaling operation done than by a mid price dvd player. The main point though, is if you do send 1080i and get it to work, you are making the player scale from 576 to 1080, then making the screen scale from 1080 to 480. Try on your calculator dividing 10 by Pi then re multipying. Do you get the same answer? Only very smart calculators do this correctly, and forgive me here, neither your player nor your screen is the sharpest knife in the drawer on this, but IMHO the screen would win the battle of the scalers over that DVD, let it do the work. On the LG the scaling is not bad, as plasmas go.
    Nonetheless, it's interesting you can't seem to get 1080 to work, I assume you've enabled it on the player? You don't usually have to tell a display what signal to look for, it should autodetect, like it will on YUV with a multi region DVD player. Try 720p too, let us know. The LG owners need to know too, it increases the knowlege base. If the Panny DVD and the LG don't fall in love with each other, that's what the forum is for, so other LG owners know, and choose a different player. This does just happen sometimes. The S97 is a good match for a PW on DVI, but many other DVI players fall by the wayside with Pannys on DVI they are a notorious pain in the butt on digital.
     
  4. bigval

    bigval
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    You are right, I am not the sharpest knife in the draw when it comes to this. If I was I wouldnt be asking.

    Anyway, I cant even find the option for 1080i.

    Will have to keep messing and get one of those calibration dvd things.
     
  5. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    the screen should select 1080 on it's own.
    1) if you are correctly feeding a 1080 signal
    2) if the display can show this resolution
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Bigval, I said nothing about you not being etc!!! You don't need a calibration disc, you need to RTFM on the DVD, find out how to really send 1080i. 'Fraid it would not surprise me if LG were optimistic on the signal compatiblility. Any LG owners reading who have got 1080i to work? Happy to be wrong here, I've never tried this. I got some funny results at 720p, hit or miss, sometimes right, sometimes hideous overscan.
     
  7. bigval

    bigval
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I gotta say the manual is total crap :(
     
  8. DOCTOR_d

    DOCTOR_d
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Tried a couple of downloads at 720p using DVI from a PC and they looked real nice.

    Just found the 1080i downloads on the microsoft site, so will give them a go and let you know.... Just doing a customers car at the moment (customers hey :D :rolleyes: ), so I will be back on when I'm done.
     
  9. braveknight

    braveknight
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The DVI port has handled everything I've ever thrown at it - including 720p and 1080i - without any problems (that I could see).

    Haven't tried a Panasonic source component though (not suggesting anything - just saying I haven't tested it).
     
  10. jucapo

    jucapo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    LG RZ42PX11 feeded via DVI from Samsung HD 745 gives a perfect 1080i signal. No problems!
     
  11. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Right, so is it either it doesn't like the panasonic, like I said, you do find these little problems, or else it's tripping up over HDCP somehow. The Samsung is an 'illegal' DVi player isn't it?
     
  12. jucapo

    jucapo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello MAW, I'm not following you... what do you means with "illegal"?
     
  13. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Any digital output player is supposed to have HDCP, I think yours does not? Makes it the player of choice for Pio. MXE owners.
     
  14. jucapo

    jucapo
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I applied the "free region hack" on this player straight on when delivered and connected to the plasma. Maybe that HDCP was also removed with this procedure. I've read something about this on AV-Forums (http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=179649)
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Ah, so yours works and is not HDCP, PC's work, non HDCP. Panasonic does not work and is HDCP. Bigval do you get a picture with the Panasonic at all on digital?
     
  16. kocl

    kocl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    589
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    PORTUGAL
    Ratings:
    +13
    Hi, i put a pio 868 1080 signal and its ok with a little flicker.
     
  17. bigval

    bigval
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    968
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have got picture thru the dvi yeh. But on some scenes there are jerks. Sort of like slow motion. I think this has got to be some setting somewhere..

    What is this HDPC thing? Excuse my ignorance :(

    Another thing I realised...when trying to get a res of 1080i I have been using normal dvds so I assume this is no use unless the source is actually in 1080i?

    Thanks guys, I am trying to learn as I go :)


    Also just checked my version number and in ends in 528. Is this firmware ok or can an update make a lot of difference?
     

Share This Page

Loading...