1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG Plasma Picture

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by GeordieUser, Dec 22, 2004.

1. GeordieUser

GeordieUser

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I have just purchased a LG RZ42PX11 PDP. I am new to all this AV stuff however I am an electronics technician in telecommunications by trade so I can learn quickly. I purchased the PDP because it was cheap, however I am dissapointed with the picture, especially on facial close-ups or while watching football. My main input is from a SKY Digibox PACE 2300 1999 model, via a SCART connection. I have heard all about Video Scaling but does the equipment really justify thier cost. I work with Americans so I could purchase one at approx 1/2 price compared to the UK, but this would still cost arround £600. That is nearly the price I paid for the PDP. So my burning question is are they worth the money and do they really work. Are there manafacturers out there that would let you try before you by (or at least return the item if not satisfied)

Regards

GeordieUser

2. BabyCakes

BabyCakes
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    LG plasmas are indeed rubbish. There are many people out there that are not able to tell a good plasma apart from a bad one.

3. raydundas@bluey

raydundas@bluey

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just had a Lumagen Scaler installed and it Does make a difference. Admittedly I started with a better Panel, a Pioneer 50MXE-1, but it still made a distinct improvement

4. Dutch

Dutch

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +278