LG OLED65B7V Audio Advice Required

Discussion in 'LG TVs Forum' started by Pecker, Apr 3, 2018.


    1. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,453
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,558
      I've just ordered one of these, to be delivered on Friday:

      LG OLED65B7V 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD OLED TV

      :clap:

      I would potentially have a maximum of 3 x HDR/4K sources, 1 - a UHD Player, 2 - a Sky Q box and 3 - an Amazon Fire TV.

      I have a legacy (non-HDR/4K) amp, which I'd like to keep. The problem is, of course, that I can't plug any of these sources into the amp, then one HDMI from amp to LG, as the amp won't pass 4k/HDR.

      Now I haven't bought the UHD Player yet, but will buy one with 2 x HDMI outs, so there should be no problem with the amp there. HDMI 1 to carry video to the LG, HDMI 2 with the audio going to the amp.

      The Sky Q box has an optical out for Dolby Digital, which is the best audio format available on that box, so again I'll plug the HDMI straight into the LG, and take an optical digital out to the amp.

      Now, this Fire TV (like the Sky Q box, the best audio is Dolby Digital) only has 1 HDMI out, and no separate audio out. But the LG does have an optical out.

      Three questions:

      1 - Can I plug the Fire TV straight into the LG, then run the optical out from the LG to the amp? In other words, will the LG pass an audio feed it receives over HDMI out through the optical output? Or is the optical out only for content where the LG is the source (internal tuner, apps, etc.)?

      2 - If so, could I also do this with the Sky Q box, so I only have to run one optical cable (LG to amp) instead of 2 (LG to amp and Sky Q box to amp)?

      3 - Does the above set up look right? Any potential problems?

      Many thanks.
       
    2. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +284
      I believe the answer to 1 is yes. In fact you don't even need to use the optical out use the HDMI ARC channel and it'll carry all the audio you need, up to but excluding (I believe) HD soundtracks.

      I believe the fire TV needs to be forced to output 5.1 audio, otherwise it will default to 2.0. again the TV *should* pass it through the ARC to the amp.
       
    3. HSC

      HSC
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 23, 2004
      Messages:
      2,043
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      Coventry
      Ratings:
      +199
      yes ARC
      assuming your amp supports it
       
    4. GAmbrose

      GAmbrose
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 5, 2003
      Messages:
      1,113
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      Essex
      Ratings:
      +241
      Sky Q actually supports Dolby Atmos for some shows, so in actual fact Dolby Digital isn't "the best audio format available on that box"

      You've spent a fortune on an amazing OLED TV - Can't you stretch another £350 for a Denon AVR-X2400H?
       
      Last edited: Apr 3, 2018
    5. mkebbay

      mkebbay
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2005
      Messages:
      220
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +10
      What amp do you have?

      I also have a similar set up to you i.e. same tv, Sky Q, UHD player and legacy amp. You can try the option you suggest using the tv's optical out to the firestick. Depending on whether your amp has the ARC feature you may be able to connect the ARC input from tv to ARC input on amp.

      This will allow you you to send Dolby digital sound direct to the Firestick and even Sky Q without the need to use optical leads. I have my set up connected this way. The only drawback is that you cant get HD audio over ARC such as DTS Master audio or Dolby True HD but as you will be getting a UHD Blu ray player with two HDMI ports that should not be an issue for you.
       
    6. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,453
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,558
      Good spot. But I believe it only carries Atmos over lossy DD+. No matter, I don't want, nor require Atmos.

      I have a rather fantastic ONKYO TX-SR876, which I'm loathe to part with. I don't need Atmos, so to get anything of a similar standard in terms of amplification and DACs I'd have to shell out 4 figures, and I'd barely get 3 figures for the Onkyo on ebay. I just seems like a complete waste of both quality and money if I can work round this.
       
    7. dollag

      dollag
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 30, 2015
      Messages:
      1,812
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent
      Ratings:
      +750
      Cant you just run an optical out from the TV to the avr?
       
    8. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,453
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,558
      Erm...that's what I'm asking.
       
    9. dollag

      dollag
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      May 30, 2015
      Messages:
      1,812
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent
      Ratings:
      +750
      apologies :blush:

      I was having handshake issues with my hdmi on a previous set so ran everything via optical from the tv to my av receiver. worked a treat.

      I cannot see any issues other than the carrying of immersive and hd formats (and dd+) which you are already aware of.
       
    10. GAmbrose

      GAmbrose
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jul 5, 2003
      Messages:
      1,113
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      Essex
      Ratings:
      +241
      Sorry, that was a typo

      New AVR is £350 not £3050!

      They've come a long way in 9 years...
       
    11. mkebbay

      mkebbay
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Apr 12, 2005
      Messages:
      220
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +10
      Is there not an argument to spend similar amounts on AVR, speakers as with the tv?

      I would not put a budget amp £350 with s premuim tv £1500+.

      The OP already has an amp that is in the premuim range which i suspect would do a great job over HDMI ARC. As the OP stated replacing hid current amp would require the sort of investment that could get a decent tv.
       
    12. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,453
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,558
      Thanks for the ideas (and the correction, I'd guessed it was a typo).

      The thing is, if I'm not going down the Atmos route (which I'm not), and I've found a solution to the Fire/Sky Q issue (which it looks like I have), I'm guessing this would still be a case of me spending more money for lower quality.

      I don't know the spec on that Denon, but at the price I doubt it'll have DACs as good as the Onkyo's Burr-Brown 192 kHz/24-Bit set up, nor 200W per channel in amplification.

      Though I'm happy to be corrected.
       
    13. Pecker

      Pecker
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Dec 26, 2004
      Messages:
      22,453
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      Huddersfield, People's Republic of Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +4,558
      The TV has already set me back £2.5k, so I'm certainly trying to minimise other expenditure where possible.
       
    14. drdocmatt

      drdocmatt
      Active Member

      Joined:
      May 23, 2016
      Messages:
      815
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      63
      Location:
      GB
      Ratings:
      +284
      I would agree, you have no need to replace the avr.
       
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice