Question LG EG9100 - Seek help calibrating

BlackWolf

Novice Member
Hi everyone,

I recently got my LG EG9109 - first, let me say I love it. Colors seem very good, blacks are great and no clouding issues of course. I do have some trouble calibrating the TV properly, though. I am not an expert in these things and don't have any calibration hardware - I'm just a tech geek looking for the best manually achievable picture.

Maybe you can help me with some of the issues I have or explain them to me. I try to calibrate with the AVCHD 709 Test Patterns via a USB stick.

----------

1) Using the White Clipping pattern is obviously difficult, as it contains a lot of white, which ends up being gray on an OLED. I actually end up with a contrast value of 100, not sure if this can be right?

2) Brightness Level is not that easy as well - using the Black Clipping pattern I end up at 50, using the Grayscale Colorramp I end up at around 56. Any advice on how to calibrate this properly?

3) The biggest issue seems to be color: When watching content, in my opinion brightly lit faces have a slight(!) greenish tint that I can't seem to get rid of. Looking at the color ramp pattern, I can see that yellow has a noticable green tint. I can't really seem to get rid of this. The green disappears if I change "Color Management → Yellow → Tint" to around -8, but here the brightest yellow block becomes way darker than the block before.

4) Looking at the color ramp, the brightest 3 blocks of green merge together. I haven't found any way of correcting this problem, no matter what settings I can't get these blocks to separate.

5) Looking at the color bar pattern (blue filter), I cannot for the life of me make the flashing rectangles disappear - not even close, neither for tint nor color.