LG B6 OLED TV Owners and Discussion Thread - Part 6

Discussion in 'LG TVs Forum' started by The Limey, Jul 8, 2017.


    1. The Limey

      The Limey
      Moderator

      Joined:
      Oct 14, 2008
      Messages:
      2,198
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      146
      Ratings:
      +2,568
    2. ml1963

      ml1963
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2014
      Messages:
      178
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Ratings:
      +91
      Hello part 6
       
    3. LordG42

      LordG42
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 3, 2017
      Messages:
      244
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +61
      Be prepared for repeated questions from those who can’t find the time to read the other threads, yet find the funds for the B6. Dunno about everyone else but I prefer to do lots of reading and research beforehand [emoji1303]
       
    4. Joe C

      Joe C
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,514
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +733
      Yeah, but is the B6 any good, and does anyone have any recommended settings?
       
    5. LordG42

      LordG42
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 3, 2017
      Messages:
      244
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      31
      Location:
      Scotland
      Ratings:
      +61
      [emoji23] nice one aye
       
    6. Colonel_basic

      Colonel_basic
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Nov 29, 2008
      Messages:
      230
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      21
      Ratings:
      +16
      But we are of a certain vintage i believe :lesson: to any new comers just buy it if you can get it for less than £1600 it's a no-brainer. I just saved the millennials a good few mins there trying to figure out how to rephrase the same questions.
       
    7. JTT

      JTT
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 23, 2004
      Messages:
      371
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +12
      Just bought a B6 and pretty happy, except lip sync issues with SkyQ. Have it set to -5 which is the max and still not quite enough.

      I am connected direct to TV via HDMI then ARC to Yamaha soundbar.

      Any ideas of what else to do?

      Thx
       
    8. jasjeet

      jasjeet
      Member

      Joined:
      Jul 30, 2010
      Messages:
      293
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +44
      You can set audio delay on the sky box as well in 20ms increments.
       
    9. JTT

      JTT
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 23, 2004
      Messages:
      371
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +12
      That is just for optical out I think, that what it says anyway
       
    10. Jason56d

      Jason56d
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2006
      Messages:
      3,762
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Jarden, Texas
      Ratings:
      +988
      I have a new (possibly) issue!?! Have had to reset my B6 twice in the last 6 weeks due to it not recognising anything through any hdmi ports?

      Once was after watching something from my NAS, the other when watching Netflix. Watched whatever it was fine, select Sky Q, then get audio through my AVR but no picture. Tried my Nvidia Shield, Samsung bluray, same problem, audio but no picture?

      First time it happened I tried plugging the hdmi into the other TV ports, same result. Tried different hdmi leads, same? It's like all the hdmi ports stop working? Last night I didn't even bother checking everything. Tried a few things this morning that didn't work, so just reset it again, all worked after!!!

      So the only way to rectify it is to reset the TV back to factory and set it all up again?

      Anyone had similar or have any suggestions to stop it happening again?
       
    11. gunner84

      gunner84
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 16, 2005
      Messages:
      3,728
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +784
      Have you got that hdmi deep colour option turned on, on all hdmi ports?

      If you have maybe try testing by turning one of the ports ultra deep colour off. (think this what its called).
       
    12. Jason56d

      Jason56d
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jul 13, 2006
      Messages:
      3,762
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      3
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Jarden, Texas
      Ratings:
      +988
      I only have it turned on under HDMI 2 as that's the only input I use, everything goes through my Denon 2300.
       
    13. Dee1888

      Dee1888
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 22, 2012
      Messages:
      232
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +25
      So has anyone had the new update ota yet?havent access to my laptop as its away getting fixed.
       
    14. PsyQ

      PsyQ
      Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2, 2017
      Messages:
      16
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Earth
      Ratings:
      +5
      I'm sorry to bring something back from part 5, but it seems this issue isn't solved.

      No matter what I try, I can't get 5.1 audio from the built-in Netflix app via ARC to my AVR (Yamaha RX-A860, latest firmware as of last week). I've confirmed that the TV itself can handle this: Playing a file from USB stick plugged into the TV will correctly send e.g. DTS to my AVR. But the Netflix app is always stereo. The app does show that content has "5.1" support now -- it used to not even show that two weeks ago. But playback will always be in 2.0 PCM stereo.

      I've tried switching the ARC output format to "auto" on the TV (it was "PCM") but that made no difference for the Netflix app. Switching off HDMI-CEC ("SmartLink") makes it so there is no audio from the TV via ARC at all anymore. If HDMI-CEC is on, at least the AVR automatically switches to AV4 and there is 2.0 audio.

      There are no settings in the Netflix app that could influence this. Playing back the same Netflix content via a Sony UBP-X800 plugged directly into the AVR gives 5.1 audio. So like others have suggested, unless someone knows of a definite fix or what could be wrong in my settings, I believe the Netflix app on webOS can't do 5.1 via ARC at the moment.
       
    15. Geesus

      Geesus
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 23, 2003
      Messages:
      2,440
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Ratings:
      +802
      Have you tried using the optical out to see if it provides 5.1 that way?
       
    16. gunner84

      gunner84
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 16, 2005
      Messages:
      3,728
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +784
      I get 5.1 via arc using inbuilt app, maybe try logging out of the netflix app or reloading the app if there is an option in the apps settings?
       
    17. PsyQ

      PsyQ
      Member

      Joined:
      Jun 2, 2017
      Messages:
      16
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      4
      Location:
      Earth
      Ratings:
      +5
      Thanks gunner84 and Geesus. I don't know if this might be an issue in the AVR firmware after all. After closing and reopening the Netflix app, I get 5.1 in "straight" mode from most older Netflix content. The newer stuff also seems to work. In some cases I had to enable Dolby decoding by hand on the AVR, but then magically when switching back to straight mode, the 5.1 soundtrack was still present and being decoded fine (?).

      I have no clue what made this not work the entire time up until now. I thought it might also be a bandwidth issue, but I can play 4K with Dolby Vision fine from Netflix, so it shouldn't be that.

      Anyway, I can say it's not the app now, at least not always, and/or it can be fixed by completely shutting down the app. I'll keep an eye on this to see if there's a pattern and will post again if there is one. Might be LG/Yamaha related as well. Thanks for the suggestions :)
       
    18. CrispyDio

      CrispyDio
      Member

      Joined:
      Oct 13, 2016
      Messages:
      72
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +80
      I get this periodically - I think it's some kind of handshake issue and it tends to crop up for me when using my Xbox for a while; switching between 50 and 60hz apps/games over time within a single session sometimes leads to the dreaded dog picture, so it might be something similar for you if switching between sources. If you're patient (anything up to five minutes) it will eventually find a picture (but if you switch source again it'll take another five minutes of dog), but I find the quickest way to resolve this is to unplug the telly for fifteen seconds, then plug it back in again. Not ideal really, but it does the trick.
       
    19. leecavturbo

      leecavturbo
      Member

      Joined:
      Apr 24, 2009
      Messages:
      970
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +26
      Does the tv have native DD pass through? Can it with service menu hack ?
       
    20. Joe C

      Joe C
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,514
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +733
      It passes through DD fine
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    21. Steve Hud

      Steve Hud
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 21, 2016
      Messages:
      555
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Blackpool
      Ratings:
      +481
      Has anyone heard any updates as to when or if LG will bring HLG to the 2016 range? I seem to remember LG said they'd be bringing it out in an update. That must be about 9 months ago.
       
    22. Joe C

      Joe C
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,514
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +733
      It was in January, at CES, they said it would be added.

      Hasn't been as yet, but then nothing is using at at present (so far as I'm aware)
       
    23. Steve Hud

      Steve Hud
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 21, 2016
      Messages:
      555
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Blackpool
      Ratings:
      +481
      The B7 has it, and you can watch demos on iPlayer.
       
    24. Joe C

      Joe C
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,514
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +733
      Nothing is broadcasting using it is what I meant
       
    25. Steve Hud

      Steve Hud
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 21, 2016
      Messages:
      555
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      66
      Location:
      Blackpool
      Ratings:
      +481
      True. But it looks like it might soon be a thing.
       
    26. Joe C

      Joe C
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Dec 4, 2014
      Messages:
      1,514
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +733
      No reason to doubt that LG will deliver it - they've done everything they said they would so far
       
    27. Finguz

      Finguz
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Mar 14, 2014
      Messages:
      46
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Ratings:
      +3
      I'm too busy enjoying the Dolby Vision content on Netflix to care at the moment :thumbsup:
       
    28. Freddy

      Freddy
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 12, 2003
      Messages:
      105
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +3
      Well I am very happy just had a new panel fitted .
       
    29. Dim reaper

      Dim reaper
      Standard Member

      Joined:
      Jan 5, 2017
      Messages:
      47
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      11
      Location:
      North Yorkshire
      Ratings:
      +19
      Planet earth 2 uhd bluray is selling for £19.99 on amazon at moment if anyone has Prime. I think it's just for today. It's usually £29.99.
       
      • Like Like x 1
      • Thanks Thanks x 1
      • List
    30. leecavturbo

      leecavturbo
      Member

      Joined:
      Apr 24, 2009
      Messages:
      970
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      28
      Ratings:
      +26
      If only I could get 1080 watching 4K Netflix !!!!!!!!
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice