1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG 44 - Lamp hours?

Discussion in 'TVs' started by dividedsky319, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. dividedsky319

    dividedsky319
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Another post i read here implied that it's possible to see how many hours you've been using the current lamp... I bought a RU-44sz63d a little over a week ago, open box from the store. I was told that someone had purchased it and brought it back 3 days later to exchange for a plasma... but I'd like to check the hours on the lamp to be sure it wasn't a display model that's been on for a long time.

    Anyone know how I can find out the number of hours? Thanks.

    And, before my 30 days are up and I can't return anymore... just appx how much are replacement lamps for this LG? Want to make sure this isn't going to be a really expensive investment, or if I should just go with something that will last me >10 years... Thanks.
     
  2. dividedsky319

    dividedsky319
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmm, it asks me for a password when I do that... anyone know what the password might be?
     
  3. dividedsky319

    dividedsky319
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind, I must have gone into the wrong thing at first, I figured it out.

    Looks like they lied to me... when going to "replace lamp", lamp 0 says 1851... meaning it was probably a floor model. They'll be hearing from me!! (luckily I'm still within 30 days)
     
  4. jimbobaggins

    jimbobaggins
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    491
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Up North
    Ratings:
    +18
    I think the lamps are about £300!!
     
  5. mistycat

    mistycat
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    it took me six months and a lot of use to get to this point. In fact I don't think I am anywhere near that yet! My suggestion is to settle for them supplying a new lamp. This will then mean you will get roughly 18000 hours of use before replacing a bulb!
     
  6. Apollo11

    Apollo11
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    601
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    32
    Location:
    Hadleigh, Suffolk
    Ratings:
    +57
    Are you sure its not 18 Hrs, 15 Mins??

    AVnut.
     
  7. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to but in but does anyone know how to find out the hours on a Sammy Sp46, please.
     
  8. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,940
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,486
    I think it should tell you how to access the bulb life in your sammy manual ! Dont think that on the sammy you need service hack. Should be under options mate , hope that helps mate ? :rotfl:
     
  9. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hi Si,

    No mention of it in manual mate, probably is in the service menu somewhere. iwill do a search i am sure there is a thread that tells me how to access it.
     
  10. Bacus

    Bacus
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    6,940
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Close to the sea
    Ratings:
    +1,486
    You sorted it yet mate, if not i think Razor may know how to find it mate
     
  11. philip41

    philip41
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2004
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sussex
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have found the key combo for the service menu, i will have a look in there tomorrow sometime.

    Cheers M8

    P.S

    Not long now till your 50"sammy arrives mate. :clap:
     
  12. dividedsky319

    dividedsky319
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    20
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went and talked to them, and they said they can't do anything else for me... The regular price they charge is 2200, and I got it open box for 1700 (this is USD, I'm in the US)

    So they're basically saying the "discount" was already taken off, which it was, it just makes me mad that they lied to me about just HOW used the tv was.

    Is the life on the lamps usually 8k or so hours? I gotta decide whether I wanna keep it, or bring it back and go elsewhere and get something else...
     
  13. Blondie

    Blondie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    294
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Land of the Dead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep 8k hrs max, if your lucky that is
     
  14. JZEE

    JZEE
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Philip,

    You can supposedly go in the SP46's service menu with the combination INFO, MENU, MUTE, POWER when the TV is in standy-by. I said supposedly because I've tried this combination numerous times but my TV will not go in the menu for some reason but I know others who managed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...