1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LG 42PX11 and s-video

Discussion in 'LG TVs Forum' started by stexxe, Mar 22, 2005.

  1. stexxe

    stexxe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I have bought the LG 42PX11 and tried to connect this to a PC using the S-VIDEO to watch a DVD. The problem is that all the images seems solarized, like a 32bit image viewed on a 16 or 24bit screen :confused:

    Someone have any idea?

    Thanks
    Stexxe
     
  2. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,604
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +477
    can you try using a vga connection?
     
  3. mannyo

    mannyo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    758
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Blandford Forum
    Ratings:
    +77
    Connect to the pc using either dvi or vga for a much better clearer and sharper image.
     
  4. stexxe

    stexxe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, but why the s-video cause this problem?
    Someone with the same TV reported this problem?

    Thanks

    Stexxe
     
  5. Teccy Toker

    Teccy Toker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bought one of these sets in dec last year...both s-video sockets failed, set was replaced 10th march and the s-video sockets lasted 1 day (the mico dvd recorder connected with s-video had worked with 3 other TV's fine)...LG are 'looking into it' duh !
    TT
     
  6. stexxe

    stexxe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The s-video socket "failed" means that simply doesn't work or do you have the same solarization problem?
     
  7. Teccy Toker

    Teccy Toker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    my old set was firmware 3.17 and had terrible solarization and both s-video sockets failed after a few days...the new one is firmware 5.13 and the piccy is much better (still not perfect) and the s-video sockets lasted one day.
    Still can't get the teletext to werk right (can't go through the sub pages..grrrrr !)
    TT
     
  8. stexxe

    stexxe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks TT, but how can I check the firmware versions, and also how can I update it?
    But now, do you have your TV or is on the hand of LG for 'looking into it' ?

    Anyway I will have sometime saturday to check the VGA connection, have you tried this?
     
  9. Teccy Toker

    Teccy Toker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2004
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    You need to go into the service menu (press and hold the menu button
    on the telly and also press and hold the remote menu button at the same time....after a few seconds the service menu appears with the firmware version.....to get out of the service menu just press the remote menu button till the service menu dissappears).
    The LG service people have to upgrade the firmware...:(
    I still have my telly.....the LG tech peeps are meant to be keeping me informed....yeah right !.
    As to the VGA...I have my telly connected to a Radeon 9800 pro graphics card 2nd monitor port on vga at 1024 x 768 @ 85hz...my pc screen rez...the telly scales it down fine, and the piccy is quite good (havn't got a long enough DVI cable to try DVI though).
    TT
     
  10. stexxe

    stexxe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uhmm so I need to contact LG service people... first I try to use a different s-video source.
    About the configuration, usign the s-video I have tried the resolution of 1024 x 768 @ 60Hz but there was some sizzle images. I changes the resolution on 800x600 and works without problem!
    This saturday I will also buy a VGA cable... :)

    Thanks a lot for your help!
     

Share This Page

Loading...