1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lexicon DC1 for 500 pounds?

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by Sab, Dec 31, 2004.

  1. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    I have the chance to buy a Lexicon DC1 processor for 500 pounds.

    Is it good value for money and will it be a big improvement over my Denon 3803 receiver?

    I have never ever listened to a Lexicon processor before so I need to hear from people with experience with Lexicon processors.

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    Just like to add would a new processor like the Rotel 1068 sound better?
     
  3. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    lexicon DC1 £500 good nick incredible bit of kit.........BUY IT
    Nedd some power amps tho...or can use denon as AMP
     
  4. skidooseadoo

    skidooseadoo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Make sure it is Version 4 software and AC3, DTS and THX which will give you 7.1 and DD ex.
    The 1068 Rotel fails in comparison IMO.China Build. Lexicon is very versitile.
    I have a MC1 ver. 4 with 3 bryston amps in my HT. Love every minute of it. Make sure you have a SPL meter when setting up.
    Luck,
    Dave
     
  5. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    Is it still posible to upgrade the Lexicon DC1 from Version 1 to Version 4?

    What improvements does Version 4 make?
     
  6. Sab

    Sab
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    729
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +18
    Also what does IMO mean (excuse my ignorance) ?
     
  7. City_Knight

    City_Knight
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Summertown
    Ratings:
    +0
    IMO- in my opinion

    Ask CSE (01423359054), the UK Lexicon importers for upgrade prices. They always run good offers when new models come out (like the MC8), so you may find they have some DC2, MC1 available.
    The DC2 differed only very slightly from the DC1v4 - it had slightly better DACs
     
  8. City_Knight

    City_Knight
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    51
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Summertown
    Ratings:
    +0
    I once bought a DC1v4 for £90.. the power supply was fixed at £120.
    I sold it for £950 to a guy in Belgium a week later.. Couldn't afford to keep it at the time! I later had a DC2/Paraound HCA1205A, and now I'm with TMA kit. The Logic 7 processing from Lexicon was great for Tv broadcasts, and the speed sensitive volume control was ingenious. Get an LS700t Lexicon remote, too! There's one for £250 on hififorsale at the moment..
     
  9. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,736
    Sorry, what does " china build" have to do with anything? The Lexicon DC-1 is versatile in terms of setup, but that's about it...no video switching of note, not sure if it has audio delay, but it's now an old old unit.

    At the end of the day it depends what you want out of your processor? I don't actually believe there's that much between the old processors and the processing in some of the newer integrateds (my comparisons aren't extensive so that is subjective), and personally I wouldn't buy kit that old anymore.
     
  10. Cmoth

    Cmoth
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,095
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +19
    I have had a DC1 for 5 years and run it with a Primare 5 channel power amp. It sounds awesome for films and ive never had any complaints from a musical point of view either, although the forum may disagree on this point. I think £500 is about right subject to condition etc as that is the price I would be looking for really if I was to advertise mine at some point in near future.
    I would buy it and if for some reason you are not happy, Im sure you could move it on again in the forum and incur no loss.
     
  11. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    I'd go for the Rotel.

    I had a Meridian 565 with DTS etc... and similarish? sort of age / price of the DC1?

    Anyway, yes the build quality was great etc... but the sound, the new DACS / digital processor etc... just does not sound as good to me as the more modern processing inside the rotel.

    So, if you have the time, then maybe go demo a Rotel, and give it consideration before spending your money :)

    Steff
     
  12. Timmy C

    Timmy C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2003
    Messages:
    4,396
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +199
    I've got a Lexicon MC1 which I bought last year for about £1200 and to be honest it's the only bit of kit I own that I have no temptation to upgrade. It's absolutely fantastic! The only thing I really would like that it hasn't got is component switching but soundwise it's great. I've not heard a DC1 but I would have thought it's worth it for £500 if you just want it for movies and not 2 channel use. I'm sure you wouldn't lose too much if you change your mind and sell it again anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...