1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lexicon DC-1 AC-3

Discussion in 'AV Pre-Amp/Processors & Power Amps' started by jookster, Feb 8, 2005.

  1. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    what is a Lexicon DC-1 with only AC-3 worth? OK sure it has Logic 7, and its got the 20 bit Dacs.

    Cheers
     
  2. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone?
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +789
    There were a few V.4 DC-2's for £450 just before christmas, I think they were from the Lexicon trade in programme.
    So probably a little less than that??

    They are worth what you are prepared to pay really.
     
  4. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    gosh just 450, any other ppl willing to comment on the price of a AC-3 only 20 bit Dac, Version 3.1 Lexicon DC-1?

    Cheers
     
  5. CYRUStheVIRUS

    CYRUStheVIRUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    If it has 3.10 it will have both DD and DTS, so you are not looking at that much difference £100 maybe.

    JOOKSTER- You need to consider your budget and what the Lexicon is going to be partnered with. Sometimes the money is better spent elsewhere in your system.
    What components do you already own?, if it is a first system look at an old flagship amp like Denon A1/10 or Yamaha A1/A1X, these can be picked up for the price of DC1.
     
  6. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm thats strange, I maybe its version 3 software, but I was told clearly it did not have AC-3.

    As you say though Virus maybe a old integrated might be better.
     
  7. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    actually Cyrus I think you might be wrong, DTS is a seperate hardware card and so a DC-1 have version 3 software and not have DTS. I think....

    Cheers!
     
  8. CYRUStheVIRUS

    CYRUStheVIRUS
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +15
    Your probably right as i remember reading about a v4 without DTS.
    £250 then.
    Well at least your getting the price down, at this rate someone will pay you to take one :laugh:
     
  9. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +789
    The DC1 came as a base unit, then you could add DD, followed by THX and then DTS.

    Each were big upgrades and I personally think you would definitely want DTS to make it worth owning one.
     
  10. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +789
  11. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i thought all units had thx as standard?
     
  12. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +789
    I thought that THX was an upgrade, thinking about it, THX was before DD.
    And I beleive with THX you got the new remote.
     
  13. jookster

    jookster
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so now you think it was standard or not?

    Does DTS matter THAT much?
     
  14. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    9,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +789
    Have you read the link above?

    That will probably answer all your questions :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...