1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Let's see your Oppli

Discussion in 'AV Stands, Cabinets, Seating & Furniture' started by MacReady, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +105
    After having a look through the forum a bit I can't belieive just how many people use the Oppli from Ikea.

    I have seen a few threads with pics of peoples Oppli's but I dont think there is one that is just devoted to showing everyones...so I thought it would be good to get ones started :D (Mods, if I have missed a thread then I appologise)

    Here is mine to get things started.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. jasper_mccrea

    jasper_mccrea
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +20
    mine: (I hope that added OK)

    That's a big telly for sitting on an oppli, cleric. Do you not find it too high?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. MacReady

    MacReady
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,220
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Barnsley, South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +105
    I dont have the castors on the Oppli so the TV sits a couple of inch higher than when it was on the standard Toshiba base.
     
  4. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,111
    I had an Oppli before our daughter started to move about
    [​IMG]
    Got replaced by a LEKSVIK also from IKEA which has locking doors and more space :)
    [​IMG]
     
  5. SilverPenguin7

    SilverPenguin7
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    Just for the fun of it, here is mine. Have had it about 4 years now. Might upgrade it to a glass av rack soon though as I'm moving and the new wooden floor might be a fair bit darker than the Oppli, making it look out of place.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. steev

    steev
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2001
    Messages:
    233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beds, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Andy,

    I'm after a cabinet, but have shied away from some of the Ikea units due to the closed back. How easy do you find it to manage the cables? I'm thinking particularly of the amplifier that will have a lot of connections. Is it viable to cut some larger holes in the back? I expect it's just hardboard, but it is likely to be structural. I'm not averse to a bit of woodwork to adapt the unit to my needs. At that price (£75) I could wouldn't feel too bad about hacking it.
     
  7. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,111
    The back holds the cupboard 'true' and is necessary but I took 6 fairly large rectangular slots out of it to make the equipment accessible.
    I'm planning on using an X brace from IKEA's storage (IVAR etc.) so I can make the whole thing open back - but I couldn't find one the last time I was there
    More details in my thread here - let leave this for the Oppli owners...
    http://www.avforums.com/frame.html?...om/forums/showpost.php?p=1004045&postcount=17
     
  8. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,036
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
  9. twistywizard

    twistywizard
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    488
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    No piccy yet

    I have one as well. Fantastic unit for the cash :clap:
     
  10. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    2 of the units put together (this is the only one fits properly in the space). Have good gap for air circulation - cable outlet. Also remote works while cabinet is closed
     

    Attached Files:

    • pl.JPG
      pl.JPG
      Size:
      25.6 KB
      Views:
      2,832
  11. PeteT

    PeteT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shipley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    This is what i've been looking for. I am now tied between this and the ikea bonde sideboard.:rolleyes:
     
  12. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29

    Were the doors an Ikea purchase as well?
     
  13. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    No. Was there when i bought the flat (countryside properties)

    PeteT: I also went to ikea to pickup ikea bonde sideboard, but the depth (40 cm) turned me down picking that up.

     
  14. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29

    I meant the cabinet doors.
     
  15. Conn

    Conn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    It says in his post they are from Argos...
     
  16. PeteT

    PeteT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shipley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi suniil,

    I have now bought two (melbourne), I liked the glass doors and i can also hide all wires behind it, and you can't see underneath it. i need to modify it a bit to fit my mce computer in it and to provide ventilation for my 360. Once done i'll post a pic.
     
  17. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    Glad to knew that! yes the glass doors are good. All cables goes underneath the cabinet

    Hope it is easy to do modifications in back (cut holes etc). Only thing worries me is the quality is not as good as ikea's
     
  18. lovemunkey187

    lovemunkey187
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Messages:
    2,509
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Notts/Sth. Yorks border
    Ratings:
    +29
    My mistake. I thought that they were Ikea units that had had doors fitted.
     
  19. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    i've tried to customize ikea units with doors etc, as i was after a high-gloss white stuff but noway my DIY skills met with customizing. Finally i've settle down with argos stuff but looks good / fits perfectly in my living room.



     
  20. PeteT

    PeteT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shipley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4

    As promised i have attached the photo of my melbourne thanks to suniil. I had lost the cable for my camera. Anyway

    [​IMG]
     
  21. suniil

    suniil
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,881
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London SE5 / W1
    Ratings:
    +402
    Excellent! you could place some indoor plants /subwoofer to hide the sockets/wire in corner. Also cable tidy stuff are very cheap in Ikea, i don't think you need this. You can tuck the cable through the corner and then under carpet
     
  22. anakin373

    anakin373
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Very nice PeteT :smashin:

    Does the frosted glass allow the remote signals through ok?
     
  23. PeteT

    PeteT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shipley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thank you sunill, I am looking for a large round bottomed vase, then putting those long twig things in for the corner (The sub is in that corner anyway). That should cover the wires. :thumbsup:
     
  24. PeteT

    PeteT
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    182
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shipley, West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thank you,
    Yes it does. I use my MCE remote to control the xbox 360. I have had to modify the back to allow the heat out. There is a gap all the way along the bottom for wires etc, but i have made a large hole at the top the cabinet with the 360 in for the heat. And touch wood, not red lights on the 360.
     
  25. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  26. jayscott

    jayscott
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edit: Have just seen the answer to my question on another thread...
     
  27. Matt_C

    Matt_C
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    9,059
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +1,163
    Just to ressurect and old thread (search function rocks! :D ) I have an Oppli question!

    I intend to get one of these, mainly cos I want something wide enough to have three interal "sections" so I can have my centre speaker in the unit (I hate it on top of the TV) but I am a little worried about weight. My TV alone is 75kg's!!!!

    Now Ikea state max load should be 70kgs - 5k under my TV's weight, and thats without my amp, dvd, vhs, and DTT boxes... I know my amp weighs 7.5kg...

    Is this unit gonna support my TV, and my seperates? Is the max load pretty much to do with top weight, rather than inner shelf weight?

    My plan for setting up is possibly on another wooden box underneath (to raise it up a bit - 10cm or so - and give the cables a place to "hide") and have the AV amp (heaviest seperate) on the bottom of the oppli (not on a shelf), dvd in centre bottom, centre speaker centre on shelf, and vhs and DTT boxes on the left section with one on bottom and one on shelf....

    Is this gonna work or am I likely to come home from work and find my TV has crushed all my seperates?

    Thanks in advance!!!!
     
  28. AMc

    AMc
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    5,551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Near Norwich
    Ratings:
    +2,111
    I had a 75KG 32" Sony CRT on mine for ages along with a heavy amp, centre etc. I think IKEA are pretty conservative with their load bearing estimates.
    I weigh >85Kg and wouldn't think twice about sitting on my oppli. You'll be OK.
     
  29. M6TT F

    M6TT F
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    macclesfield, cheshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    I stood on ours when I was decorating - it'll be fine!
     
  30. M6TT F

    M6TT F
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    macclesfield, cheshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    here's mine - slightly modded. Moved the verticals apart slightly to accomodate my B&W centre speaker
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

Loading...