1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lektropaks SCART switcher - good enough for projector?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Richard Harnwell, Feb 18, 2001.

  1. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've got too many RGB devices to be able to let my Sony VW10HT projector switch between them itself (DVD, OnDig, PS2, Dreamcast).

    My plan is to connect the DVD player (Sony 7700) directly to one of the RGB inputs, as this is most important, quality-wise. I would then connect the OnDig, PS2 and Dreamcast to a SCART switcher, which would then output to the "loop through" SCART input of the 7700. This would leave the second RGB/Component input available for the VGA output of the Dreamcast (not available with all games), or a PC.

    I'd like to have a remote controlable switchbox (want to use the Pronto!), and the only one I've seen is the Lektropacks "Quattro" at £80.

    Before I buy it, I'd like to know if there is a noticeable signal deteriation, as this would obviously be particularly obvious on a projector. Has anyone tried this?

    Cheers,

    Richard

    [This message has been edited by Richard Harnwell (edited 18-02-2001).]
     
  2. Gary Palmer

    Gary Palmer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    328
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Richard

    I was considering the same thing,

    anyone got one ?

     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Richard,

    Have you actually got any of these devices connected to the VPL10 via RGB?

    I only ask because the last unit we supplied was incapable of carrying out aspect ratio control when fed an RGB signal* Have Sony released a firmware mod for this and not informed their dealers?

    * Unless it's a progressive rgb with sync on green signal from a US HiDef set top box or scaler pretending to be one!


    Gordon


    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  4. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've got all of those connected via RGB:

    OnDigital RGB SCART output is looped through the DVD player (Sony 7700) which in turn outputs via RGB SCART to Video A. (I couldn't tell any difference between the comnponent & RGB outputs of the DVD, so I chose RGB so I could use the loop-through).

    The PS2 and DC both output RGB to a manual RGB SCART switch box, which then outputs to Video B.


    Having said this, my unit, though recently purchased, is the ex-dem machine from a store (the only one I could find with not a single dead pixel). So, it could be quite a few months old with an earlier ROM revision.
    If RGB aspect-control is disabled with the latest firmware, then I'm avoiding it :)

    Richard
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Richard,

    Now I'm confused. The final lead to the Sony projector! How is it terminated? in 4 phono's?

    If so, what aspect ratio do you watch anamorphic DVD's in?
    Letterbox DVD's in?
    4:3 TV in?

    Thanks for your continued help...

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !

    [This message has been edited by Gordon, StereoStereo (edited 02-03-2001).]
     
  6. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
  7. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    Come back Gordon! (you're not off on an Oil Rig again are you?)

    Can my 10HT do things (RGB aspect ratio control) others cannot?

    Or did I misunderstand your questions?

    Cheers,

    Richard
     
  8. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Richard,

    I'm here and I'm looking in to this. Thanks,

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  9. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I see!

    I'm afraid you may have misunderstood my budget for this switchbox! It would have to be a very good deal to come close to the £80 cost of the box mentioned in the title of this thread! (I've pretty much used my AV budget for this year already with the projector)

    The DVD player is directly connected, so I'm only looking to switch devices of secondary importance (3x RGB - OnDig, PS2, Dreamcast). I'd like as little degradation as possible, but don't need the really top notch quality that I'm sure the NEC video switcher would offer.

    Thanks for the thought though!

    I assume from the lack of responses to the original question that no-one reading this has the Lektropack/Keene box?

    Cheers,

    Richard
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Richard,

    I have the answer. Everytime I've tried to send RGB to the VPL10 it has been de-interlaced (ie 480p or 720p).

    Aspect ratio control is generally not available when you do this unless you try to con the thing in to thinking it's from a HDtv set top box by outputting RGB with sync on green. With VESA standard signals from P.C.'s it just doesn't want to know.

    Having chatted with Marata vision this morning I can now confirm that I am a gumby! Aspect ratio control is useable when sending an "interlaced video standard signal" to the VPL10. Something I've never done. I always used component and s-video.

    I have a remote controlled professional NEC video switcher and standard convertor that may be of use to you. Email me with how many sources you need to send via rgb and I'll see if I have enough RGB input cards available. It does S-vid and Composite to RGB conversion as well. Costs £1000+ new I think, but I'll do you a deal mate...... If I have enough bits.

    Gordon

    ------------------
    StereoStereo
    Intelligent Solutions for Intelligent Homes !
     
  11. Paul H

    Paul H
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Richard Harnwell

    Richard Harnwell
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2000
    Messages:
    315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Colchester, Essex
    Ratings:
    +4
    I thought I'd just let you guys know that I eventually took the plunge & ordered the Quattro+ from BeyondHifi (thanks for the info Paul).

    I cannot see any significant image degradation on my VW10HT projector; It is in my rack now and works like a dream! The auto-switching works so well that it is rare that I need to switch manualy.

    My only slight gripe is that the case looks a little cheap, but this is the only remote controllable RGB switcher I have seen in this price range, so I'm not complaining.
     

Share This Page

Loading...